Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3353EST. P3353EST. V3353

Straka Meats inc.

Family owned slaughter and custom processing plant for beef, pork, lamb, and wild game in Plain, Wisconsin.

915 Alma Ave, Plain, Wisconsin 53577 · Sauk County

strakameats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptWebsite states HACCP certifiedWebsite states state inspected dailyWebsite states animal welfare humane slaughter certified

At a glance

  • ·FSIS very small establishment slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, under 1,000 head per year
  • ·Custom slaughter every Wednesday by appointment only, per the website
  • ·Online beef and pork cut sheets with posted processing fees
  • ·Wild game processing including deer, elk, moose, caribou, mule deer, antelope, and bear
  • ·Retail store with in house smoked hams, bacon, and sausage products

About Straka Meats inc.

Straka Meats Inc. operates at 915 Alma Ave in Plain, Sauk County, Wisconsin, under establishment numbers M3353, P3353, and V3353. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing, meat and poultry identification, and voluntary meat slaughter and processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of 2025-08-13. FSIS classes the plant as very small and records slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb at under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and reports retail exempt sales.

The company website describes the business as state inspected daily and animal welfare humane slaughter certified, and as HACCP certified. The federal directory lists the establishment under FSIS inspection activities, so buyers comparing the two records will see both descriptions. The site says all custom slaughter is done every Wednesday by appointment only and asks customers to call in advance for available dates and times.

According to the website, the business began as Plain Produce and Locker Plant on March 1, 1948, owned by Pete Goodman, uncle of Eileen Goodman-Straka. James and Eileen Straka came to Plain in 1951 and purchased the plant in 1952. In the early 1960s James shifted the plant to beef and pork processing and added hickory smoked sausages to the retail store, and in 1976 he added a slaughter floor, sausage room, processing room, and two coolers for dry aging beef. Sons John and Jim continued the business after his death in 1980, remodeled the retail store and updated equipment in 1999, and have since retired. The site states Straka Meats is a third generation business owned by John's son, Andy.

Services

  • Custom beef, pork, and lamb slaughter and processing
  • Meat slaughter and meat processing under federal listing
  • Poultry processing and poultry identification as listed with FSIS
  • Custom exempt slaughter, packages marked Not for Sale
  • Retail exempt sales
  • Wild game processing for deer, elk, moose, caribou, mule deer, antelope, and bear
  • Custom curing and smoking of hams and bacon
  • Cut to customer specification with online cut sheets
  • Dry aging coolers for beef
  • Retail meat counter

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogsroaster pigssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef halves, split sides, front quarters, and hind quarters
  • Ribeye, porterhouse, T-bone, sirloin, round, cube, and New York strip steaks
  • Chuck, sirloin tip, rump, and prime rib roasts
  • Ground beef, stew meat, brisket, short ribs, flank and skirt steak, soup bones
  • Whole and half hogs, pork chops, pork steaks, pork roasts, spare ribs, baby back ribs, hocks and shanks
  • Smoked and fresh hams, side pork and smoked bacon
  • Ground pork, brats, pork links, breakfast sausage, Italian sausage
  • Hickory smoked sausages and hams, bacon, BBQ pork, shredded beef
  • Lamb cut to customer specification
  • Venison and wild game sausage

For farmers and ranchers

The website states that custom slaughter is done every Wednesday by appointment only and asks customers to call in advance for available dates and times. Lamb is processed by appointment only. Cut sheets for beef and pork can be submitted online, and the site says the same link can be used to book a slaughter appointment or check order status. The federal record shows slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb at under 1,000 head per year and reports custom exempt slaughter with packages marked Not for Sale. Posted beef processing fees on the cut sheet are $130 whole, $65 half, and $32.50 per quarter, with a $15 split side fee, a $20 per whole beef fee for boneless New York strip steaks, and pork options including $1.29 per pound to cure and smoke hams or bellies, $0.99 per pound to slice, and added charges for brats, links, breakfast sausage, and Italian sausage. Hauling instructions, drop off times, and kill floor scheduling beyond Wednesdays are not stated in the sources.

Straka Meats inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a retail store with fresh cuts every morning and says meat is cut daily. It states that all beef and pork sold there is raised locally, with Wisconsin corn fed livestock hand picked each week. Search snippets attributed to the company's contact page describe 25 different sausage products, in house made hickory smoked hams, bacon, BBQ pork, and shredded beef. Households can also buy through the processing program: beef is available as a half side with about a 400 pound hanging weight, a split side or quarter at 185 to 200 pounds hanging, and hogs as whole at 160 to 180 pounds hanging or half at 80 to 90 pounds, with roughly 35 percent cutting loss on beef. Retail hours, shipping, and delivery are not stated in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Straka Meats inc.

Is Straka Meats federally or state inspected?
The establishment appears in the USDA FSIS directory with numbers M3353, P3353, and V3353 and a grant of inspection date on file of 2025-08-13. Its own website describes the plant as state inspected daily and HACCP certified. Buyers who need a specific inspection status for resale should confirm directly with the plant.
How do I book a slaughter appointment?
The website says all custom slaughter is done every Wednesday by appointment only and asks customers to call in advance at 608-546-3301 for available dates and times. Cut sheets can be submitted online, and the site says the same link is used to book a slaughter appointment or check order status. Lamb is processed by appointment only.
What does a beef or hog order include?
The site lists a half side of beef at about 400 pounds hanging weight with roughly 35 percent cutting loss, and split sides and quarters at 185 to 200 pounds hanging. A whole hog averages 160 to 180 pounds hanging and a half 80 to 90 pounds. Posted beef processing fees are $130 whole, $65 half, and $32.50 per quarter, with extra fees for split sides, boneless cuts, curing, smoking, slicing, and sausage.
What are the store hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The website lists the address at 915 Alma Avenue, Plain, WI 53577 and the phone number 608-546-3301.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Identification - Poultry; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
August 13, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://strakameats.com/, https://strakameats.com/about-us) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Plain