Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2377EST. P2377EST. V2377

Johnsons Sausage Shoppe

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plus a sausage shop and retail counter in Rio, Wisconsin.

416 State Road 16, Rio, Wisconsin 53960 · Columbia County

johnsonssausage.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalalKosher

At a glance

  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Reports both halal and kosher slaughter.
  • ·Handles custom-exempt work on customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale.
  • ·Year-round wild game and venison processing, including whole deer or trim only.
  • ·Website lists shop hours of 7 days a week, 7 am to 7 pm, with online ordering and delivery.

About Johnsons Sausage Shoppe

Johnsons Sausage Shoppe operates at 416 State Road 16 in Rio, Columbia County, Wisconsin, under FSIS establishment numbers M2377, P2377 and V2377. The federal record lists meat and poultry slaughter and processing, identification for meat and poultry, and voluntary slaughter and processing for meat, poultry and rabbit, with a grant of inspection date on file of October 22, 2024. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. The plant is classified Very Small, with a slaughter volume category of 2.0.

The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, along with retail-exempt sales. Halal slaughter and kosher slaughter are both reported to FSIS. One search snippet attributed to the company describes it as a state inspected, family-owned and operated meat market and sausage shoppe; the federal directory lists it as a federally inspected establishment. Buyers who need a specific inspection legend on their packages should confirm directly with the plant.

The company website says Johnsons has been in operation since 1985, describes family experience in sausage making, and lists shop hours of 7 days a week, 7 am to 7 pm. The site has pages for livestock processing with booking and cutting instructions for beef, hog and sheep, a year-round wild game and venison processing page, a wholesale product section, and online ordering with delivery. Pricing, scheduling lead times and minimums are not stated in the material on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry slaughter and poultry processing
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing for meat, poultry and rabbit
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packages)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Halal slaughter
  • Kosher slaughter
  • Beef, hog and sheep processing with online or printable cutting instructions
  • Wild game and venison processing, year round
  • Wholesale products
  • Online ordering with delivery
  • Catering (per business listing name)

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssheeplambsbison

Products and retail

  • Fresh sausage and sausage shop products
  • Summer sausage
  • Burger
  • Steaks
  • Beef jerky (mentioned in a review snippet)
  • Barbecue (mentioned in a review snippet)

Hours as listed

7 Days a Week, 7 am to 7 pm (as stated on the website)

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows slaughter under inspection for cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison, plus custom-exempt slaughter for animals the customer owns, so a farmer can have animals harvested either for resale under inspection or for personal use with Not for Sale labeling. Halal and kosher slaughter are both reported to FSIS. The website has separate booking pages for beef, hog and sheep processing, and provides cutting instruction sheets online and in print for each species. Deposits, minimums, kill dates, hanging fees and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the material on file, so schedule and pricing should be confirmed by phone at (920) 992-6328.

Johnsons Sausage Shoppe reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website presents Johnsons as a sausage shop and meat market open 7 days a week from 7 am to 7 pm, with products available in the shop or through online ordering with delivery to the door. The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and the site includes a wholesale product section. Sales of halves and quarters, bundle boxes and shipping ranges are not described in the material on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Johnsons Sausage Shoppe

Can I bring my own animal for processing?
Yes as listed. The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. The website also has booking pages and cutting instruction forms for beef, hog and sheep processing. Contact the plant to confirm current availability.
Which species are slaughtered here?
Cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison are reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection. The federal activity list also includes poultry slaughter and processing and voluntary rabbit slaughter.
Is the plant state inspected or federally inspected?
The USDA FSIS directory lists it as a federally inspected establishment with numbers M2377, P2377 and V2377 and a grant of inspection date of October 22, 2024. A search snippet attributed to the company describes it as state inspected. Buyers needing a specific inspection legend should confirm with the plant.
Does it offer halal or kosher slaughter?
Both halal slaughter and kosher slaughter are reported to FSIS. Details on certifying bodies, scheduling or which species are covered are not stated in the material on file.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Identification - Poultry; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Processing - Poultry; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Poultry; Voluntary Slaughter - Rabbit
Grant on file
October 22, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.johnsonssausage.com/, https://www.johnsonssausage.com/processing) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Rio