Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M22095EST. P22095EST. V22095

Creston Valley Meats

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Creston, California, with an online meat and raw pet food store.

3280 Calf Canyon, Creston, California 93432 · San Luis Obispo County

crestonvalleymeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptGrant of inspection date on file 2019-06-12

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for both meat and poultry slaughter and processing, plus voluntary meat slaughter and processing.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Species slaughtered under inspection reported to FSIS: cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, poultry.
  • ·Online store lists beef, pork, lamb, goat, poultry, and exotic species, plus a large raw pet food selection sold by the box.
  • ·Delivery and pickup handled through north and south routes, local pickup locations, and meet-me appointments.

About Creston Valley Meats

Creston Valley Meats operates at 3280 Calf Canyon in Creston, San Luis Obispo County, California, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M22095, P22095, and V22095. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry slaughter, poultry processing, and voluntary meat slaughter and processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of June 12, 2019. FSIS classifies the plant as small and places it in slaughter volume category 3.0. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and poultry. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website is an online store organized by species and category, including beef, grass-fed beef, veal, pork, lamb and spring lamb, goat, spring goat and cabrito, chicken, quail, guinea fowl, turkey and duck, rabbit, sausage, and a set of exotic categories covering ostrich, emu, farm raised venison, farm raised elk and antelope, grass fed buffalo, water buffalo, and llama and alpaca. A large share of the listed items are organ and offal products and raw dog food blends sold by the box, such as beef heart ground, beef heart and tripe, pork and turkey mixes, pig ears, and pig snouts. Other listings include grass fed beef tallow, pork lard, grass fed stew meat, beef tongue, beef cheek meat, and local honey from Templeton. The grass-fed beef section states that all Carrisa Country animals are fed only certified non-GMO grains grown on Certified Big O, with no chemicals, herbicide, or pesticide.

The site describes delivery and pickup as the main way customers receive orders, with north and south delivery routes, local pickup locations, local meet-me appointments, and posted ordering deadlines. Site news posts mention a Templeton pickup location and a Los Osos pop-up. A search snippet from the site states the business has been delivering meats for over 30 years, which does not conflict with the 2019 grant of inspection date, since that date reflects the federal inspection grant on file rather than the founding of the business. Hours, custom slaughter booking procedures, cut and wrap fees, and ownership details are not stated in the material on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Online ordering
  • North and south delivery routes
  • Local pickup locations and meet-me appointments

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowssheeplambsyakchickensturkeysostrich

Products and retail

  • Beef, including grass-fed beef
  • Veal
  • Pork
  • Lamb and spring lamb
  • Goat, spring goat, and cabrito
  • Chicken, quail, guinea fowl, turkey, and duck
  • Rabbit
  • Sausage
  • Ostrich, emu, farm raised venison, farm raised elk and antelope, grass fed buffalo, water buffalo, llama and alpaca
  • Raw dog food blends sold by the box
  • Beef heart ground, beef heart chunks, beef heart and tripe, beef cheek meat, beef tongue, beef ears, knuckle bones
  • Pig ears, pig snouts, pig tails, pork fat, pork lard
  • Grass fed beef tallow
  • Grass fed stew meat
  • Local honey from Templeton

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows Creston Valley Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns the meat in packages marked Not for Sale, in addition to slaughter and processing under federal inspection. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and poultry, and the plant is classified by FSIS as small with a slaughter volume category of 3.0. The website includes a page titled USDA Harvest and Processing Customer Guide, but the text of that guide, along with booking lead times, minimums, kill day schedules, and cut and wrap fees, is not in the material on file. Producers should contact the plant at (805) 835-3172 to confirm availability and terms.

Creston Valley Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website functions as an online store with a cart, customer login, and newsletter, and products are listed by species with prices per pound or per box. Many items are sold by the box or with a minimum poundage, for example beef cheek meat at a five pound minimum and several raw pet food blends sold by the box only. Orders are received through north and south delivery routes, local pickup locations including a Templeton pickup mentioned in site news, and local meet-me appointments, with posted ordering deadlines. Site guides cover how deliveries work, how to place an order, how to feed raw pet food, and how to store and thaw products. Halves and quarters, a walk-in retail counter, and shipping outside the delivery routes are not described in the material on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Creston Valley Meats

Does Creston Valley Meats process animals for farmers?
The federal record shows the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged Not for Sale, alongside slaughter under federal inspection. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, and fees are not stated in the material on file. The listed phone number is (805) 835-3172.
What species are slaughtered under inspection?
Cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and poultry, as reported to FSIS. The website also sells meat from goat, rabbit, ostrich, emu, venison, elk and antelope, buffalo, water buffalo, and llama and alpaca, though the sources do not say where each of those animals is harvested.
Can households buy directly?
The website operates as an online store with prices, stock counts, and a cart, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Orders are received through north and south delivery routes, local pickup locations, and local meet-me appointments. A walk-in retail counter is not described in the sources.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the material on file. The registry does not represent that the plant is currently open or accepting work.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
June 12, 2019
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Medium volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://crestonvalleymeats.com/, https://crestonvalleymeats.com/product-category/beef/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Creston