Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M40268AEST. P40268AEST. V40268A

Sinton and Sons Local Meats and Provisions

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plus butcher shop beef shares in Paso Robles, California.

9050 Gravel Rd, Paso Robles, California 93446 · San Luis Obispo County

sintonandsons.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptVoluntary Slaughter - Meat under FSISCustom-exempt processing reported

At a glance

  • ·FSIS very small plant with slaughter and processing grants, inspection dated 2014-05-22.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection; website also lists goats and wild game.
  • ·Both USDA-inspected and custom, non-USDA processing offered, per the website.
  • ·Harvest drop off is at 6:30 AM at MJM Chandler Ranch in Creston, with a $50 late charge after 30 minutes.
  • ·Beef quarters, halves and wholes sold online with free Paso Robles pickup or flat-rate shipping within California.

About Sinton and Sons Local Meats and Provisions

Sinton and Sons Local Meats and Provisions operates at 9050 Gravel Rd in Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County, California, under FSIS establishment numbers M40268A, P40268A and V40268A. The federal record lists meat processing, meat slaughter and voluntary meat slaughter, with a grant of inspection dated May 22, 2014. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, and its reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt processing.

The company describes itself as rancher owned and says it sources from Central Coast ranches, naming Avenales Ranch in the Pozo valley, which the site says has been in the Sinton family since 1875. Its website says Sinton and Sons butcher shops serve Paso Robles, Templeton, Creston, Santa Margarita, Shandon and Pozo, and lists pasture-raised beef, pork, lamb, sausage, jerky, chicken, wine and other provisions. The processing page states the operation is open for USDA harvesting of cattle, pigs, lambs and goats, and that custom, non-USDA and wild game processing are also available. Note that the federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection, while the website also names goats.

The online store sells beef shares and add ons, including quarter, half and whole beef deposits, a 10 pound grassfed ground beef box, beef liver, marrow bones, soup and knuckle bones, raw beef fat, hot sauce and gift cards. Beef shares can be picked up free at the Paso Robles shop or shipped within California for a stated flat fee. Hours are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • USDA-inspected slaughter
  • Custom-exempt (non-USDA) processing
  • Meat processing
  • Cut and wrap
  • Vacuum-sealed packaging with color labels
  • Custom cuts and specialty product development
  • Sausage making
  • Wild game processing
  • On-farm harvest coordination with transport in for cutting and wrapping
  • Retail butcher shop sales
  • Shipping within California

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifershogssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Grassfed and dry aged ground beef (10 lb box)
  • Quarter, half and whole beef shares
  • Premium steaks including filet, ribeye and New York
  • Roasts
  • Ancestral ground beef with heart and liver ground in
  • Natural beef liver (5 lb)
  • Marrow bones (2 lb box)
  • Grassfed beef soup and knuckle bones (5 lb box)
  • Raw grassfed beef fat (2 lb)
  • Sinton and Sons hot sauce
  • Pasture-raised beef, pork, lamb, chicken
  • Sausage
  • Jerky
  • Wine and other provisions
  • Gift cards

For farmers and ranchers

The website states the operation is open for USDA harvesting of cattle, pigs, lambs and goats, and that custom/non-USDA and wild game processing are also available. Booking is by phone at (805) 237-8100 or by email, and cut sheets for beef, pig and lamb/goat are submitted through the site. Fees are charged up front and are refundable if cancelled more than 48 hours before the appointment. All drop off times are stated as 6:30 AM at the MJM Chandler Ranch in Creston, California, with a $50 charge for anyone more than 30 minutes late. A scalder for pigs is available. If an animal needs to be harvested on the producer's property, the site says the company can help arrange that and bring the carcass in for cutting and wrapping. The site also promotes USDA processing so producers can sell to their own customers, vacuum packaging with color labels, and custom cuts, sausages and exclusive products for brands. FSIS lists the plant as very small with a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year, so capacity should be confirmed directly.

Sinton and Sons Local Meats and Provisions reports custom-exempt processing to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Sinton and Sons sells retail through butcher shops and an online store. Beef shares are offered as quarter (about 100 lbs, $13.00 per lb, $500 deposit), half (about 200 lbs, $12.50 per lb, $1,000 deposit) and whole ($2,000 deposit); the deposit is 50 percent of the share and a final invoice follows once total weight is known. Shares include premium steaks (filet, ribeye, New York), ground beef, steaks and roasts based on a standard cut sheet, with a choice of regular or ancestral ground beef (heart and liver ground in) on the quarter for an extra $1 per lb. Pickup at the Paso Robles shop is free with 24 hour notice; shipping within California is $200 for a quarter and $400 for a half. Individual items include a 10 lb grassfed ground beef box, liver, marrow bones, soup and knuckle bones, raw beef fat, hot sauce and gift cards. Order questions go to orders@avenalesranch.com or to the butcher shops by phone.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Sinton and Sons Local Meats and Provisions

What animals can be processed here?
The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection. The website says the operation is open for USDA harvesting of cattle, pigs, lambs and goats, and that wild game can also be handled. Producers with goats or game should confirm directly.
How does a producer book a harvest?
The website says to email or call (805) 237-8100 to book a time, and to submit a cut sheet for beef, pig or lamb/goat. Fees are charged up front and are refundable if cancelled more than 48 hours before the appointment. The registry does not claim the plant is currently accepting work.
Can households buy directly?
Yes, as listed. The online store sells quarter, half and whole beef shares with 50 percent deposits, plus a grassfed ground beef box, liver, bones, beef fat, hot sauce and gift cards. Pickup at the Paso Robles shop is free with 24 hour notice, and California shipping is $200 for a quarter and $400 for a half.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The phone number listed with FSIS is (805) 237-8100.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
May 22, 2014
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://sintonandsons.com/, https://sintonandsons.com/shops) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Paso Robles