Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3800

Ohio Valley Meats LLC

USDA-inspected slaughter and butcher shop in Hanover, Indiana, handling beef, pork, lamb, and goat.

4251 S 850 W, Hanover, Indiana 47243 · Jefferson County

ohiovalleymeat.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats under federal inspection, per the FSIS record.
  • ·Very small plant, FSIS slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Species-specific cut-up order forms for beef, hog, lamb, and goat, with drop-off scheduled in advance.
  • ·Retail counter plus online ordering with same-day in-store pickup; shipping listed as coming soon.
  • ·Two different phone numbers on file: 801-286-6471 x0 with FSIS and (812) 866-4710 on the website.

About Ohio Valley Meats LLC

Ohio Valley Meats LLC operates at 4251 S 850 W in Hanover, Jefferson County, Indiana, under USDA establishment number M3800. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing and classifies it as very small, with a reported slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes the business as a local butcher shop in Hanover offering hand-cut steaks, fresh pork, poultry, seafood, specialty cuts, custom meat bundles, and bulk orders. The site states the business was re-established in 2009 after being purchased and renovated, and describes itself as family-focused and oriented toward serving local families, farmers, and businesses. Online ordering with same-day in-store pickup is offered, and the site notes that shipping is coming soon.

Contact numbers differ between records. The federal listing shows 801-286-6471 x0, while the website lists (812) 866-4710. Details not covered above, including custom processing prices, minimums, and scheduling lead times, are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
  • Custom cut and wrap with per-animal cut-up order forms
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Bulk orders and custom meat bundles
  • Online ordering with same-day in-store pickup

Species under inspection

steersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssheeplambsgoats

Products and retail

  • Hickory smoked bacon
  • The Original Bacon Sizzler
  • Signature breakfast sausage
  • Burger patties
  • Beef brisket
  • Flank steak
  • Filet mignon
  • Chuck roast
  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Poultry
  • Seafood

Hours as listed

Monday through Friday 8:00am to 5:00pm, Saturday 9:00am to 12:00pm, Sunday closed, as listed on the website.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Ohio Valley Meats for slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer, with packaging marked Not for Sale. The website directs producers to schedule a drop-off date first, then complete a cut-up order form, with one form per animal. Separate beef, hog, lamb, and goat cut-up forms are available to fill out online or download as a PDF, and completed hard copies can be brought at drop-off or emailed to dropoff@ohiovalleymeat.com. FSIS places the plant in the very small size class with a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. Kill fees, cut and wrap charges, hanging weight pricing, and booking lead times are not stated in the sources on file.

Ohio Valley Meats LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website operates a retail store at the Hanover address and an online shop with categories for beef, pork, poultry, and seafood. Listed items include hickory smoked bacon at $6.50, breakfast sausage at $3.49, burger patties at $8.00, beef brisket at $7.50, flank steak at $7.49, chuck roast at $8.70, and filet mignon at $32.76, as posted. The site advertises a limited-time beef bundle described as frozen and vacuum-sealed for freezer stocking, and invites custom cut, bulk, and special requests. Orders can be placed online for same-day in-store pickup, and payment is accepted online or in store. The site states that shipping is coming soon. Sales of halves and quarters are not described in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Ohio Valley Meats LLC

What animals can be slaughtered here?
The FSIS record lists cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats slaughtered under inspection. The website provides cut-up order forms for beef, hog, lamb, and goat.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale. The website asks customers to schedule a drop-off date first and to submit one cut-up order form per animal. Whether openings are currently available is not stated here.
What does custom processing cost, and are there minimums?
Prices, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, and minimums are not stated in the sources on file.
Can I buy meat directly, and is delivery available?
The website sells retail cuts online for same-day in-store pickup at the Hanover location, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. The site states shipping is coming soon. Local delivery is not mentioned.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
April 3, 2026
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://ohiovalleymeat.com/, https://ohiovalleymeat.com/pages/about-us) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Hanover