Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2732EST. P2732EST. V2732

The Cut Meat Market

USDA-inspected butcher shop and retail meat market in Sanborn, Iowa, slaughtering cattle and hogs.

509 Profit St., Sanborn, Iowa 51248 · O'Brien County

thecutmeatmarket.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Federal grant of inspection dated July 17, 2024; FSIS size class Very Small.
  • ·Slaughters cattle and hogs under inspection, at under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Both federally inspected and custom-exempt slaughter are reported, so producer-owned animals can be processed.
  • ·Per-pound processing and value-added pricing for beef and pork is published on the shop website.
  • ·Retail counter with fresh cuts and prepared side dishes in Sanborn, Iowa.

About The Cut Meat Market

The Cut Meat Market operates at 509 Profit St. in Sanborn, Iowa, in O'Brien County. It holds federal establishment numbers M2732, P2732 and V2732, with a grant of inspection dated July 17, 2024. FSIS lists its activities as meat processing, meat slaughter, poultry processing, and voluntary processing and voluntary slaughter of meat. The plant is classified as very small, and it reports slaughtering cattle and hogs under inspection at a volume category of under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

According to its website, the business was established in the spring of 2024 by Kent and Keegan Douma, described as a father and son with experience in the cattle and pork industries. The site presents the operation as a farm to table meat market selling freshly cut, locally sourced meats along with prepared side dishes such as pasta salads and potato dishes, and it also offers butchering services described as tailored to the customer.

The website lists beef and pork processing as its two service lines, with published per-pound fees for processing and for specialty items. Details beyond the federal record and the website, including hours of operation, booking lead times and shipping, are not yet on file.

Services

  • Beef processing
  • Pork processing
  • Cattle and hog slaughter under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Poultry processing (as listed with FSIS)
  • Voluntary processing and voluntary slaughter of meat
  • Retail meat sales
  • Custom cutting and special packaging on request

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssows

Products and retail

  • Fresh cut beef
  • Sirloin
  • Ground pork and ground pork patties
  • Beef patties
  • Summer sausage
  • Dried beef
  • Beef sticks
  • Skinless brats and specialty skinless brats
  • Sausage, sausage patties and skinless sausage links
  • Ham loaf
  • Cured pork
  • Pasta salads and potato side dishes

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both federally inspected slaughter of cattle and hogs and custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by a producer can be processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale. The website asks customers to contact the shop to get on the processing schedule and states that specific cuts and special packaging can be accommodated. Published beef pricing includes a processing fee of $1.25 per pound, summer sausage at $1.75 per pound, dried beef at $4.50 per pound, patties at $1 per pound, beef sticks at $2 per pound, and a $150 emergency fee. Published pork pricing includes a processing fee of $1 per pound, curing at $1 per pound, ground pork at $0.50 per pound, ground pork patties at $0.55 per pound, skinless brats at $2 per pound, specialty skinless brats at $2.50 per pound, sausage at $1 per pound, sausage patties at $1.25 per pound, skinless sausage links at $1.25 per pound, ham loaf at $1.50 per pound, and a $150 emergency charge. Booking lead times, minimums and kill day scheduling are not stated in the sources.

The Cut Meat Market reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The business describes itself as a retail meat market selling freshly cut, locally sourced meats plus side dishes including pasta salads and potato dishes, and FSIS records show it reports retail-exempt sales. Customers are invited to visit the shop at 509 Profit Street in Sanborn. The sources do not state store hours, whether halves or quarters are sold to households, or whether online ordering, delivery or shipping is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about The Cut Meat Market

Can a farmer bring in cattle or hogs for personal use?
Yes, as listed. The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns the packages marked Not for Sale. The website directs customers to contact the shop to get on the processing schedule.
What does processing cost?
The website lists a beef processing fee of $1.25 per pound and a pork processing fee of $1 per pound, with additional per-pound charges for items such as summer sausage, dried beef, patties, brats, sausage, curing and ham loaf, plus a $150 emergency fee or charge. Hanging weight basis and other terms are not stated.
What are the store hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The phone number listed with FSIS and on the website is (712) 930-6328.
Does the shop slaughter poultry or sell poultry?
FSIS lists poultry processing among the establishment's activities under number P2732, but the species reported as slaughtered under inspection are cattle and hogs only, and the website describes only beef and pork processing. Poultry products for sale are not mentioned in the sources.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
July 17, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.thecutmeatmarket.com/, https://www.thecutmeatmarket.com/our-story) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Sanborn