Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47126EST. P47126EST. V47126

High Country Meats

Family-run USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Raton, New Mexico, with a retail butcher shop.

340 Colfax Ave, Raton, New Mexico 87740 · Colfax County

highcountrymeatsnm.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS very small establishment; reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year
  • ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS
  • ·Offers both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt (Not for Sale) processing
  • ·Retail butcher shop expanded by 2,650 square feet in April 2022
  • ·Family owned and operated, described on the site as more than 29 years in business

About High Country Meats

High Country Meats operates at 340 Colfax Ave in Raton, Colfax County, New Mexico, under FSIS establishment numbers M47126, P47126 and V47126. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing, and voluntary meat slaughter and processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of July 26, 2021. FSIS classes the plant as very small, and its reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The business describes itself as family owned and operated for more than 29 years and as a USDA certified establishment. According to its own history page, High Country Meats was started in 1994 by Lee and Alexis Dixon in Estancia, New Mexico, doing custom processing of beef, pork and lamb. In 1999 the family purchased a meat packing plant in Raton, a building originally built in 1960 by Joe Dennis as Joe's Packing Company. Dustin and Emily Dixon moved to Raton in April 2018 to help run the business. The site states that the plant now processes for customers in New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and Colorado.

A small retail shop opened in the front room in April 2019, and in April 2022 the business opened an expanded 2,650 square foot retail space with a new freezer and office. The site says it sells a variety of specialty sausages and beef products and puts Hatch green chile in as many items as possible. The contact page directs callers to phone for information on custom processing, USDA slaughter and processing, USDA products, and retail exempt products. Hours are not reproduced in the text on file, so specific days and times are not yet on file here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary meat slaughter and processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Retail butcher shop
  • Custom cutting and packaging of beef, pork and lamb

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowsroaster pigssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Lamb
  • Specialty sausages
  • Beef products
  • Items made with Hatch green chile

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both USDA-inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so animals can be processed either for sale under inspection or for the owner's own use with packages marked Not for Sale. Species slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, and the site describes custom processing of beef, pork and lamb cut and packaged to the customer's liking. The business states it serves customers across New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and Colorado, and that some customers have been returning for 25 plus years. A dated note on the history page said the plant was booked for the rest of 2022 and 2023, which indicates booking is required but says nothing about current availability. Fees, minimums, drop-off procedures and cut sheet details are not stated in the sources; the contact page asks prospective customers to call.

High Country Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

A retail butcher shop operates at the front of the Raton building, expanded in April 2022 with 2,650 additional square feet including retail space and a new freezer. The site says it sells a variety of specialty sausages and beef products and uses Hatch green chile in as many products as it can. The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS in addition to inspected products. The sources do not state whether halves and quarters, bundles, online ordering, delivery or shipping are offered.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about High Country Meats

What species does High Country Meats slaughter?
The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS activities also include poultry processing, though poultry slaughter is not listed.
Can a farmer have an animal processed for personal use?
Yes, as listed. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale.
Is there a retail counter for households?
The website describes a retail shop at the front of the building, started in 2019 and expanded in April 2022, selling specialty sausages and beef products. The plant also reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS.
What are the hours and how far ahead should processing be booked?
The contact page says hours are listed at the bottom of the site pages, but the hours are not captured in the text on file. A dated history note said the plant was booked through 2022 and 2023; current availability is not stated. Calling the listed number, (575) 445-2449, is the stated way to get details.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
July 26, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.highcountrymeatsnm.com/, https://www.highcountrymeatsnm.com/amenities) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Raton