Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2976

Bare Bones Butchering, LLC

USDA-inspected slaughter and custom butchering for beef, pork, lamb and goat in Friendship, New York.

5786 County Route 17, Friendship, New York 14739 · Allegany County

barebonesbutchering.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·FSIS Very Small establishment performing both slaughter and processing, with a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection per the federal record; the website also lists goat and deer processing.
  • ·Published price list with per head slaughter fees, per pound processing rates, minimum weight fees, and add-on pricing for sausage, patties, and smoking.
  • ·Booking requires a phone reservation plus a completed cut sheet emailed to the shop.
  • ·Individual retail cuts advertised on the website, consistent with retail-exempt sales reported to FSIS.

About Bare Bones Butchering, LLC

Bare Bones Butchering, LLC operates at 5786 County Route 17 in Friendship, Allegany County, New York, under USDA FSIS establishment number M2976. The federal record lists Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities, a Very Small size class, and a grant of inspection date on file of September 25, 2025. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, with a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes a 4,000 square foot processing facility and states that its work is backed by 30 years of experience raising, processing, curing, and packaging meat products. Joseph Blakeslee is listed as owner and head butcher, with Denae Blakeslee named as part of the founding vision and additional butchers Earl Robbins, Jillian Robbins, and Logan Tyler listed on the team page. The site describes processing, smoking, and vacuum sealed packaging ("Sealed Fresh"), and a "No B-S" transparency policy under which customers can track hang and dry weights along with smoked products and fresh cuts.

Published price lists cover beef, pork, lamb and goat, and deer processing. The website also advertises "NOW SELLING INDIVIDUAL CUTS" and maintains an Individual Cut Pricing page, along with an educational section called Bare Bones University covering beef cuts, pork cuts, and cut sheet instructions. Note that the price list includes deer processing, which is not part of the FSIS-inspected species list in the federal record.

Services

  • USDA-inspected slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing of customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Meat processing, cutting and wrapping
  • Smoking and dry or wet brining of pork cuts
  • Custom smoking of cuts already processed elsewhere and dropped off
  • Sausage making (bulk, links, breakfast links, patties)
  • Ground beef and beef patty production
  • Deer cut and wrap, including caping for shoulder mounts
  • Vacuum sealed packaging
  • Retail sales of individual cuts (retail-exempt as reported to FSIS)
  • Booking by phone with emailed cut sheets

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowsroaster pigssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef cuts including chuck roast, chuck steak, chuck eye steak, arm roast, arm steak
  • Pork cuts
  • Lamb and goat cuts
  • Stew meat
  • Beef patties, including quarter pound patties
  • Cube steaks
  • Bulk sausage, sausage links, breakfast sausage links, sausage patties
  • Smoked pork products
  • Summer sausage (regular, jalapeno, jalapeno cheese)
  • Snack sticks (regular, jalapeno, jalapeno cheese)

Hours as listed

Mon 08:00 am to 04:00 pm; Tue 08:00 am to 04:00 pm; Wed 08:00 am to 04:00 pm; Thu 08:00 am to 04:00 pm; Fri 08:00 am to 04:00 pm; Sat 10:00 am to 02:00 pm; Sun Closed (as listed on the website)

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so animals can be handled either for resale under inspection or as customer-owned custom work marked Not for Sale. Reserving a date is a three part process as described on the website: call to book a reservation, download and complete a cut sheet, then email the signed cut sheet to barebonesbutchering@outlook.com. Cut sheets are posted for beef, pork, and goat/lamb. Posted beef pricing lists a $150 slaughter fee covering humane handling, slaughter, and skinning, plus a processing fee of $1.15 per pound for hang weights greater than 500 pounds; hang weights under 435 pounds are charged a $500 minimum weight processing fee plus the slaughter fee. Pork is listed at a $100 slaughter fee with the same $1.15 per pound processing rate for hang weights over 200 pounds, and a $200 minimum weight processing fee for hang weights under 175 pounds plus the slaughter fee. Lamb and goat processing is listed at a $200 flat rate. Add-ons carry per pound charges, including stew meat and beef patties at $1.00 per pound (up to 10 pounds of stew meat per animal before charging, 10 pound minimum on patties), smoked product at $1.10 per pound, and a $0.50 per pound small packaging fee for packages under one pound. The site says customers can track hang and dry weights. Scheduling lead times and annual capacity beyond the FSIS volume category of under 1,000 head per year are not stated.

Bare Bones Butchering, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website banner states "NOW SELLING INDIVIDUAL CUTS" and the site includes an Individual Cut Pricing page, consistent with the retail-exempt sales reported to FSIS. Beef and pork cut guides on the Bare Bones University pages describe standard cuts with uses and cooking tips. The contact page invites visitors to come in person during normal business hours. Orders are packaged vacuum sealed, described on the site as "Sealed Fresh." Sales of halves and quarters, bundle boxes, delivery, shipping, and online checkout for retail cuts are not stated in the sources on file, and individual cut prices are behind a separate pricing page not captured here.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Bare Bones Butchering, LLC

Does Bare Bones Butchering slaughter animals, or only cut and wrap?
Both. The FSIS record lists Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing, and the website's price list includes slaughter fees of $150 for beef and $100 for pork covering humane handling, slaughter, and skinning.
Can a farmer sell meat processed here?
The establishment holds a USDA grant of inspection (M2976), which is what allows meat to be sold. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which customer-owned animals are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale. Which path applies to a given animal should be confirmed with the plant at booking.
How do I schedule a date?
The website describes a three part process: call (585) 570-2116 to book a reservation, download and complete the applicable cut sheet for beef, pork, or goat/lamb, then email the signed cut sheet to barebonesbutchering@outlook.com. Lead times are not stated, and the registry does not represent that dates are currently available.
Are there halal, kosher, or organic certifications?
None are stated in the sources on file. The only certifications supported are the USDA grant of inspection and the custom-exempt and retail-exempt activities reported to FSIS.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
September 25, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://barebonesbutchering.com/, https://barebonesbutchering.com/about-1) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Friendship