Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M8855EST. P8855

Wilson Beef Farms LLC

Farm-based beef slaughter, processing, and retail store on Hess Road in Canaseraga, New York.

10751 Hess Road, Canaseraga, New York 14822 · Allegany County

wilsonbeeffarms.com

USDA inspectedRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing; cattle are the only species reported slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small, with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Website describes a 350 acre farm raising its own cattle and growing its own feed, with about 300 head finished yearly for the store.
  • ·Beef is described as hormone free and hung in the cooler about 21 days to dry age.
  • ·Retail store with online, phone, and email ordering for pickup; individual cuts listed as local pickup only.

About Wilson Beef Farms LLC

Wilson Beef Farms LLC operates at 10751 Hess Road in Canaseraga, Allegany County, New York, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M8855 and P8855. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing activities, a grant of inspection dated August 2, 2021, and a Very Small size class. Cattle are the only species reported slaughtered under inspection, and the reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year. The plant reports retail-exempt sales and reports no custom-exempt activity.

The company website describes a 350 acre beef and crop farm where the family raises its own cattle and grows its own feed. Its history page states the business began in 1967 when Jack and Ann Wilson started direct marketing beef, with a cutting room added in 1976, a slaughterhouse built by their son Chris in 1980, and a larger processing plant in 1987. Chris and Bernadette Wilson later purchased the business from Jack and Ann. A smokehouse was added for in-house hams and bacon plus jerky, snack sticks, and hot dogs; venison processing for hunters began in 1999; a retail store opened in 2003 and was doubled in size in a 2017 addition. Snack sticks and jerky have been sold through internet sales since 2006 or 2007. The site states the family finishes about 300 head of beef cattle yearly to supply the store.

Buyers should note the scope difference between the two sources. FSIS lists cattle as the only species slaughtered under inspection, while the website offers pork, chicken, and venison products and describes venison processing for hunters. Anyone bringing an animal or seeking a specific service should confirm current details directly with the plant. Beyond what is quoted here, additional operating details are not on file.

Services

  • Cattle slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Retail meat sales (retail-exempt sales reported to FSIS)
  • In-house smoking of hams and bacon, as described on the website
  • Venison processing for hunters, as described on the website
  • Online ordering with local pickup
  • Phone and email ordering for pickup
  • Snack stick fundraising programs

Species under inspection

steersheifersbulls

Products and retail

  • Dry-aged beef steaks including tenderloin, Delmonico, strip, porterhouse, T-bone, rib, sirloin, flank, skirt, cube, chuck eye, chuck, London broil, top round, sandwich steaks, spider steaks
  • Black Nugget marinated steaks and London broil
  • Beef roasts
  • Ground beef in 1 pound bulk packages and patties
  • Short ribs, stew beef, briskets, meaty soup bones
  • Pork cuts and pork roasts
  • Pork sausage patties and links in mild, hot, breakfast, and pepper and onion
  • Hot dogs
  • Chicken
  • Snack sticks and beef jerky
  • Smoked hams and bacon
  • Suet and bones for pets

Hours as listed

Monday to Friday 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM, Saturday 8:00 AM to 12 noon, Sunday closed, as listed on the website.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows cattle slaughter under inspection at a Very Small plant, with a reported volume category of under 1,000 head per year, and no custom-exempt activity reported. The website describes the operation primarily as processing the family's own cattle, about 300 head finished yearly to supply the retail store, and states that venison is processed into smoked and fresh products for hunters. Printable beef cutting instructions, pork cutting instructions, and a venison price and information sheet are posted on the website. Booking procedures, minimums, drop-off scheduling, and cut and wrap fees for outside livestock are not stated in the sources on file.

Wilson Beef Farms LLC operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

The website invites customers to visit the retail store at the farm to buy hormone free, dry-aged beef along with pork, chicken, smoked items, and other locally made products. Orders can be placed by phone, email, or online for pickup on arrival, and the individual cuts pages state that beef steaks and individual cuts are available for local pickup only. Snack sticks and jerky have been marketed through internet sales since 2006 or 2007, and the site lists a snack stick fundraising option with orders arranged by phone. Posted per pound prices for individual steaks appear on the site. Sales of halves and quarters are not described in the fetched text, though the history page states the store sells locally raised, dry-aged beef in any quantity.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Wilson Beef Farms LLC

Does Wilson Beef Farms slaughter animals for other farmers?
The sources do not say. FSIS lists meat slaughter with cattle as the reported species and no custom-exempt activity, while the website describes the operation as raising and processing its own cattle and processing venison for hunters. Contact the plant to confirm.
Can I buy a half or quarter of beef?
Not directly stated. The website history page says the retail store sells locally raised, dry-aged beef in any quantity, and a printable beef price sheet and beef cutting instruction form are posted, but half and quarter terms are not described in the fetched text.
Does the business ship?
The website states snack sticks and jerky have been marketed through internet sales since 2006 or 2007. Individual cuts and beef steaks are listed as available for local pickup only.
Are pork and chicken raised on the farm?
The website says all fresh cuts of beef come from locally raised stock on the farm, and invites customers to buy pork and chicken at the retail store. The source of the pork and chicken is not stated. FSIS reports cattle as the only species slaughtered under inspection.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
August 2, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.wilsonbeeffarms.com/, https://www.wilsonbeeffarms.com/about-us/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Canaseraga