Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M7975EST. P7975EST. V7975

Piedmont Custom Meats, Inc.

USDA-inspected slaughter and cut-and-wrap for cattle, hogs, sheep, and goats in Gibsonville, NC.

9683 Kerr Chapel Road, Gibsonville, North Carolina 27249 · Caswell County

piedmontcustommeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptAnimal Welfare Approved (AWA) approved slaughter and processing facility, recommended for beef, pork, and lamb following a January 2024 review, per the plant's website

At a glance

  • ·FSIS very small establishment listing meat and poultry slaughter and processing, plus voluntary meat slaughter and processing; grant of inspection date on file 2021-10-26.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter in addition to inspected work; custom packages are marked Not for Sale.
  • ·Website describes a Temple Grandin designed handling facility in Gibsonville and a 45,000 square foot processing facility, with cattle transported to Asheboro for fabrication.
  • ·Published price list covers kill and dressing, cut and wrap at $1.35 per pound hanging weight, grading, bundles, and further processed items.
  • ·Website lists booking through December 2026, with January to July 2027 requests opening 9/9/26, as listed.

About Piedmont Custom Meats, Inc.

Piedmont Custom Meats, Inc. operates at 9683 Kerr Chapel Road in Gibsonville, North Carolina, in Caswell County, under FSIS establishment numbers M7975, P7975, and V7975. The federal record lists meat slaughter and processing, poultry slaughter and processing, and voluntary meat slaughter and processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of 2021-10-26. FSIS classifies the plant as very small and lists cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison among species slaughtered under inspection. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale.

The company's website describes USDA-inspected harvest, fabrication, and custom cutting and packaging for beef, pork, lamb, and goat, and states that it does not buy or sell meat but processes animals for the customer. The site describes a Temple Grandin designed animal handling facility in Gibsonville and a 45,000 square foot processing facility. According to the site, all animals are harvested in Gibsonville, cattle age in the coolers, are broken into eight pieces, and are transported by refrigerated truck to Asheboro for processing, while pigs, sheep, and goats are typically transported within two to three days. USDA carcass grading for Prime, Choice, and Select is offered. Note that the website lists goat among species processed while the FSIS species list on file names cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison.

Further processing described on the site includes fresh sausages in bulk, links, patties, and breakfast links, hot dogs, smoked sausages, bacon including beef bacon, smoked boneless hams, and beef bone broth produced through a third party USDA processor. The site states the plant is an approved Animal Welfare Approved slaughter and processing facility with a written humane handling policy, and that following a January 2024 review it is recommended by AWA for slaughter of beef, pork, and lamb for AWA farms. Retail hours and any direct-to-household sales are not stated in the sources.

Services

  • USDA-inspected slaughter
  • Custom-exempt slaughter (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Meat processing and fabrication
  • Poultry slaughter and processing (per FSIS activities)
  • Custom cutting, vacuum packaging, and custom labeling
  • USDA carcass grading (Prime, Choice, Select)
  • Beef bundle program (eighths)
  • Halves processing for cattle
  • Further processing: sausage, hot dogs, smoked sausage, bacon, smoked boneless hams
  • Beef bone broth via third party USDA processor
  • Hide and pelt return (day of kill)
  • Carcass disposal

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowsroaster pigssheeplambsbison

Products and retail

  • Beef cuts including roasts, steaks, eye of round steaks, osso buco, shanks, ribs, ground, patties, liver, oxtail, cubed steak, stew, kabobs, stir fry
  • Pork cuts including roasts, picnics, Boston butts, chops, ribs, shanks
  • Lamb and mutton cuts
  • Goat cuts
  • Fresh and smoked sausages (Andouille, Bratz, Garlic Bratz, Cajun, Italian, Kielbasa, Maple, Sage, Apple Cinnamon, Hawaiian Volcano, Chorizo, Merguez)
  • Breakfast links and patties
  • Hot dogs
  • Pork bacon, slab and sliced
  • Beef bacon
  • Smoked boneless hams
  • Seasoned meat loaf
  • Beef bone broth

For farmers and ranchers

The website states appointments are required for slaughter and that all scheduled appointments must be confirmed before animals are delivered to Gibsonville. As listed, the site shows booking through December 2026, with requests for January through July 2027 dates opening 9/9/26. Animals may be dropped off between 7:00 AM and 9:00 AM on the appointment day, with day-before drop-off from 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM for Tuesday through Friday appointments; Sunday drop-offs are not accepted. Cattle must be 600 to 1,800 pounds live weight with horn span no more than 24 inches, and hogs at least 150 pounds live weight. Maximum cattle hang time is 14 days. Cut sheets are due at drop-off or by 9:00 AM the next day, otherwise a standard cut sheet is used. Posted fees include kill, dressing, and disposal at $95 effective for beef and $85 effective for hogs, plus disposal fees of $8.31 per head beef and $5.06 per head hog; goat, sheep, and lamb are a $140 flat fee per animal with $1.00 per pound over 70 pounds and a $2.31 per head disposal fee. Cut and wrap is $1.35 per pound on hanging weight, custom-labeled and vacuum-packed with a USDA seal. Grading is $9.00 per head, or $30.00 per head to grade and label if Choice or Prime. Sides A and B add $40.00; the eighths bundle program adds $120.00 per beef. A 14-day cancellation notice is required and late cancellations may incur a $50 fee. Product must be picked up within 48 hours of notification, with storage fees stated as $50 per day on the terms page and $20 per day on the process page. Payment is due at pickup by cash, check, or Visa, MasterCard, or Discover.

Piedmont Custom Meats, Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website states that Piedmont Custom Meats does not buy or sell meat and processes animals for the customer, so no retail counter, bundles, delivery, or online meat ordering is described in the sources. Households buying a whole, half, or quarter animal would do so through the farmer, and the site notes it cannot take cutting instructions from a farmer's multiple customers, so the farm must submit one final cut sheet. Processed halves are available for cattle only, not pigs or sheep.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Piedmont Custom Meats, Inc.

What species does this plant handle?
FSIS lists cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison as species slaughtered under inspection, and lists poultry slaughter and processing among its activities. The website says the plant processes cattle, swine, sheep, and goat and offers cut sheets for beef, pork, lamb, mutton, and goat. The two sources differ on goat and bison.
Can I buy meat directly from Piedmont Custom Meats?
No. The website states the company does not buy or sell any meat and only processes the customer's animal. No retail store, shipping, or online meat sales are stated in the sources.
How far ahead do I need to book?
Appointments are required and must be confirmed before delivery. As listed on the website, booking runs through December 2026, with requests for January through July 2027 dates opening 9/9/26. A 14-day cancellation notice is required and shorter notice may incur a $50 fee.
What are the hours and who owns the business?
Hours of operation, founding year, and ownership are not stated in the sources on file. The terms page does state animal drop-off windows of 7:00 AM to 9:00 AM on the appointment day and 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM the day before for Tuesday through Friday appointments.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
October 26, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://piedmontcustommeats.com/, https://piedmontcustommeats.com/services) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Gibsonville