Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M7615EST. P7615EST. V7615

Fairmount Lockers

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant for cattle and hogs in Fairmount, North Dakota.

102 Main Street, Fairmount, North Dakota 58030 · Richland County

fairmount-locker-plant.hub.biz

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federal establishment numbers M7615, P7615 and V7615, grant of inspection dated March 20, 2007.
  • ·Reports slaughter of cattle and hogs under inspection; FSIS volume category under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·FSIS size class: Very Small.
  • ·Listed as offering butchering and processing at 102 Main Street in Fairmount, Richland County.

About Fairmount Lockers

Fairmount Lockers, also listed as Fairmount Locker Plant, operates at 102 Main Street in Fairmount, North Dakota, in Richland County. The plant holds federal establishment numbers M7615, P7615 and V7615, with a grant of inspection on file dated March 20, 2007. FSIS lists its activities as meat processing, meat slaughter, poultry processing, and voluntary meat processing and voluntary meat slaughter. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small.

Under inspection the plant reports slaughtering cattle and hogs, with a slaughter volume category of 1.0, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. Directory listings describe the business as a meat market and butcher shop offering butchering and processing, and user-supplied tags on one listing mention game processing, hogs and beef.

The available web material is limited to third-party business directory listings rather than a plant-operated website. Details beyond the federal record and those listings, including hours, ownership, pricing, cut and wrap options, and booking practices, are not yet on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary meat slaughter and voluntary meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Butchering and processing as listed in directories

Species under inspection

steersheifershogs

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Sausage, mentioned in a secondary listing

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports cattle and hog slaughter under federal inspection to FSIS, along with custom-exempt slaughter in which the customer owns the animals and the resulting packages are marked Not for Sale. FSIS places annual slaughter under 1,000 head, so capacity is small and scheduling is likely limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill day schedules, hanging and cut and wrap fees, and whether the plant is currently accepting animals are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (701) 474-5869 to confirm.

Fairmount Lockers reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Directory listings describe the business as a meat market and butcher shop, and the federal record shows retail-exempt sales, which indicates meat can be sold directly from the establishment. One secondary listing mentions sausage. Whether the plant sells halves and quarters, bundles, or offers delivery, shipping or online ordering is not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Fairmount Lockers

What species does Fairmount Lockers slaughter?
The plant reports cattle and hogs slaughtered under federal inspection. FSIS also lists poultry processing as an activity, but no poultry slaughter is reported in the federal record on file.
Can a farmer bring an animal for personal use?
The federal record shows the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and marks the packages Not for Sale. Fees, minimums and booking details are not stated in the sources on file.
Does the plant sell meat directly to households?
The federal record shows retail-exempt sales, and directory listings describe a meat market and butcher shop. Specific retail products, bundles, hours, and any shipping or delivery are not stated.
Is the address 102 Main Street or 102 Main Avenue?
The FSIS record lists 102 Main Street, Fairmount, ND 58030, while third-party directory listings give 102 Main Ave. Both refer to the same establishment and phone number, (701) 474-5869.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
March 20, 2007
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://fairmount-locker-plant.hub.biz/, https://www.loc8nearme.com/north-dakota/fairmount/fairmount-locker-plant/3339871/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Fairmount