Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M7627EST. P7627

North Dakota State University Meat Laboratory

University-operated USDA-inspected slaughter and processing lab in Fargo, North Dakota.

Animal and Range Sciences Department 1300 18th St N, Fargo, North Dakota 58102 · Cass County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federal grant of inspection on file since January 15, 2019, covering meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection; FSIS volume category is under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·University-operated facility within the NDSU Animal and Range Sciences Department.
  • ·An FSIS Notice of Suspension Held in Abeyance letter dated March 7, 2024 is on the agency's public document site for Establishment M7627.

About North Dakota State University Meat Laboratory

North Dakota State University Meat Laboratory operates under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment number M7627+P7627 at the Animal and Range Sciences Department, 1300 18th St N, Fargo, North Dakota, in Cass County. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing activities, with a grant of inspection date on file of January 15, 2019. FSIS classifies the plant in its Very Small size class, and its reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. Secondary directory listings give the address as 1350 Albrecht Blvd, Fargo, which differs from the street address in the federal record; both are associated with the Animal and Range Sciences Department on the university campus.

A March 7, 2024 FSIS letter to Establishment M7627 concerning a Notice of Suspension Held in Abeyance appears in the agency's public document files. No website is on file for this establishment, and details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, and retail offerings, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

steersheifershogsroaster pigslambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection, and the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals with packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS places the plant in its smallest volume category, under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, kill and cut fees, and cut and wrap options are not stated in any source on file. Farmers should contact the laboratory at (701) 231-8107 to confirm what work is being accepted, as listed.

North Dakota State University Meat Laboratory reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which indicates some direct sales activity, but no source on file describes a retail counter, product list, bundles, halves or quarters, online ordering, delivery, or shipping. Households should call (701) 231-8107 to ask what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about North Dakota State University Meat Laboratory

What animals does this plant slaughter?
Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are the species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection. Poultry processing is listed as an activity, but poultry slaughter is not among the reported species.
Can I have my own animal processed here and keep the meat?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, minimums, and fees are not stated in any source on file.
Does it sell meat directly to the public?
It reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. No source on file describes a retail counter, hours, product list, or shipping, so buyers should call to confirm.
Which address is correct?
The FSIS directory lists Animal and Range Sciences Department, 1300 18th St N, Fargo, ND 58102. Some secondary directories list 1350 Albrecht Blvd, Fargo. Both refer to the same university department; callers can verify at (701) 231-8107.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
January 15, 2019
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Fargo