Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47963EST. P47963

The Butcher Shop, Inc.

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a retail meat counter in Oakes, North Dakota.

421 3rd Street S, Oakes, North Dakota 58474 · Dickey County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for meat and poultry, both slaughter and processing (M47963+P47963).
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·FSIS very small size class, with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Secondary listings mention a retail counter with fresh and frozen steaks and marinated steak; cash, credit card, and EBT accepted.

About The Butcher Shop, Inc.

The Butcher Shop, Inc. operates at 421 3rd Street S in Oakes, North Dakota, in Dickey County. The plant holds federal grants under establishment numbers M47963 and P47963, with FSIS activities listed as meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry slaughter, and poultry processing. FSIS classifies it as a very small establishment, and the grant of inspection date on file is September 11, 2025.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant reports slaughter volume in the lowest FSIS category, under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning animals owned by the customer are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

No website is on file with this registry. Secondary listings describe the business as a locally owned butcher shop in Oakes offering meat processing and retail products, including fresh and frozen steaks and marinated steak, and state that cash, credit card, and EBT are accepted. Details beyond the federal record and those listings, including hours, booking practices, fees, and cut and wrap options, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry slaughter
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail meat sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Fresh and frozen steaks
  • Marinated steak

For farmers and ranchers

The plant is federally inspected for both meat and poultry slaughter and processing, and reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, so a producer can have their own animals processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year, which is the smallest FSIS category, so capacity is limited. Booking lead times, scheduling windows, kill fees, hanging weight charges, and cut and wrap details are not stated in any source on file. Producers should contact the plant at (701) 742-2713 to confirm what work is being taken.

The Butcher Shop, Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Secondary listings describe a retail side to the business, with meat processing and retail products including fresh and frozen steaks and marinated steak, and note that cash, credit card, and EBT are accepted. The plant also reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Whether halves, quarters, bundles, delivery, shipping, or online ordering are offered is not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about The Butcher Shop, Inc.

Does The Butcher Shop, Inc. slaughter animals, or only cut and wrap?
The federal record lists both slaughter and processing for meat and for poultry. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb.
Can a farmer bring their own animal for personal use?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns them in packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Is there a retail counter?
Secondary listings describe retail products including fresh and frozen steaks and marinated steak, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Hours are not stated in any source on file.
What are the hours and how do I book?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file, and no website is on file with this registry. The phone number in the federal record is (701) 742-2713.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
September 11, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Oakes