Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2818

Watson Farms Meat Processing and Market LLc

Small beef, pork, and lamb slaughter and cut plant in Council Hill with retail markets in Checotah and Muskogee.

110 S. Broadway, Council Hill, Oklahoma 74428 · McIntosh County

watsonfarmsmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptWebsite describes the plant as state inspected and licensed for custom processingCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Slaughter and processing for cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, in the under 1,000 head per year FSIS volume category
  • ·Posted per pound and per head fees for beef, pork, and lamb processing
  • ·No smoking or curing offered
  • ·Retail markets in Council Hill, Checotah, and Muskogee, with a deli in Checotah
  • ·FSIS lists establishment M2818; the website describes state inspection, so buyers should confirm which legend applies

About Watson Farms Meat Processing and Market LLc

Watson Farms Meat Processing and Market LLC operates at 110 S. Broadway in Council Hill, McIntosh County, Oklahoma, and holds establishment number M2818 in the USDA FSIS directory. The federal record lists both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection, a grant of inspection date on file of April 30, 2025, and a size class of small. The FSIS slaughter volume category is 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

There is a difference between the two records on inspection status. The plant appears in the FSIS establishment directory under number M2818, while its own website describes the business as a state inspected and licensed custom processing plant and lists separate price lines for custom work and for state inspected kill and disposal. Buyers who need product carrying a specific inspection legend should confirm directly with the plant which inspection applies to a given job.

The website describes the company as four generations family owned and operated with three Oklahoma locations tied to Council Hill, Checotah, and Muskogee, including a deli at the Checotah location and markets selling locally raised meat and farm products. The site states the business specializes in beef and pork processing and works with local farmers and artisans. It also states plainly that smoking and curing are not offered. The contact page lists phone numbers of (918) 474-3267, (918) 913-7416 for Muskogee, and (918) 473-0326 for Checotah, along with email contacts for Robyn, Dillon, and Damon Watson. Address lines on the contact page are internally inconsistent, listing 111 NW 9th St Checotah OK 74428, 311 N Broadway St Checotah OK 74426, and 1629 N Main St Muskogee OK 74428.

Services

  • Cattle, hog, and sheep and lamb slaughter
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
  • Beef breakdown of whole, half, and quarter carcasses
  • Pork breakdown of whole and half hogs
  • Custom cutting to customer specifications, or house cuts
  • Ground beef and patty making
  • Sausage, brats, and links
  • Retail market and deli
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Online order form for custom processing

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogslambs

Products and retail

  • Whole, half, and quarter beef
  • Ground beef
  • Hamburger patties
  • Flavored brats and links
  • Whole and half hog
  • Pork patties
  • Pork cutlets
  • Ham
  • Sausage
  • Steaks
  • Locally raised meats and farm products at the market
  • Deli lunch at the Checotah location

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning animals owned by the customer are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and the website states customers always get their own meat back cut to their directions or to house sizes. Posted beef pricing is $0.89 per pound custom and $0.95 per pound inspected, with an $85.00 slaughter and kill fee, a $15.00 disposal fee, a $90 state inspected kill and disposal fee, and hanging weight at 90 cents per pound. Posted pork pricing is $0.89 per pound custom and $0.95 per pound inspected, with $25.00 for sausage, a $55.00 whole pig kill and slaughter fee, $15.00 disposal, a $60 state inspected kill and disposal fee, and hanging weight at 90 cents per pound. Lamb processing is listed at a flat fee of $125. Smoking and curing are not offered. Booking is by phone or the online order form. Scheduling lead times, drop-off days, and minimums are not stated. FSIS puts the plant in the under 1,000 head per year volume category, so capacity is limited.

Watson Farms Meat Processing and Market LLc reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The business reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS and its website describes markets in Council Hill, Checotah, and Muskogee, with a deli at the Checotah location for lunch and locally raised meat and farm products for sale. An online menu and order form are referenced on the site, and the about page states EBT is accepted as a form of payment. Households can also buy whole, half, or quarter beef and whole or half hogs for processing. Delivery and shipping are not mentioned.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Watson Farms Meat Processing and Market LLc

Does Watson Farms slaughter as well as cut and wrap?
Yes as listed. The FSIS record shows both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection. Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals is also reported.
Is the plant USDA inspected or state inspected?
The records differ. The plant appears in the USDA FSIS establishment directory as M2818 with a grant of inspection date on file of April 30, 2025, while its website describes the business as a state inspected and licensed custom processing plant and lists separate custom and state inspected fee lines. Confirm with the plant which inspection covers your order.
What does processing cost?
The website posts $0.89 per pound custom and $0.95 per pound inspected for both beef and pork. Beef adds an $85.00 slaughter and kill fee, $15.00 disposal, a $90 state inspected kill and disposal fee, and 90 cents per pound hanging weight. Pork adds $25.00 sausage, a $55.00 whole pig kill and slaughter fee, $15.00 disposal, a $60 state inspected kill and disposal fee, and 90 cents per pound hanging weight. Lamb is a flat $125.
Can I buy retail meat, and are hours posted?
Retail-exempt sales are reported to FSIS and the website describes markets and a Checotah deli selling locally raised meat and farm products, with EBT accepted. Business hours are not stated in the sources on file.
Are smoked hams and bacon available?
No. The website states plainly that smoking and curing are not offered.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
April 30, 2025
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://watsonfarmsmeats.com/, https://watsonfarmsmeats.com/about-us) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Council Hill