Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1130EST. P1130

B & P Meats, LLC

Doing business as Meatheads Market

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a retail meat market in Brookville, Pennsylvania.

694 Route 36N, Brookville, Pennsylvania 15825 · Jefferson County

meatheadsmarket.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter (Not for Sale packaging)Retail-exempt salesMember, Pennsylvania Association of Meat Processors (PAMP)

At a glance

  • ·FSIS lists meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing at this very small establishment, with a grant of inspection date on file of May 2, 2025.
  • ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are slaughtered under inspection; reported volume is under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt options are reported, so animals can be processed for resale or for the owner's own use.
  • ·Harvest and processing fees, plus per-pound charges for patties, sausage, cure and smoke, and ham slicing, are published on the website.
  • ·A retail counter and online shop list individual beef, pork, and bacon cuts, along with local cheeses and dairy.

About B & P Meats, LLC

B & P Meats, LLC, doing business as Meatheads Market, operates at 694 Route 36N in Brookville, Jefferson County, Pennsylvania. The plant holds establishment number M1130+P1130 and is listed with USDA FSIS for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing. FSIS classifies it as a very small establishment, with a grant of inspection date on file of May 2, 2025. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, at a reported volume of under 1,000 head per year. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes Meatheads Market as a full-service retail meat market, harvesting, and processing facility. According to the site, owner Nathan Barber grew up on his grandfather's farm, bought the farm in 2015, and with his father Joe expanded it from 20 acres to more than 1,000 acres and from 10 beef cattle to nearly 100. The site states that local farmers lacked a nearby USDA-inspected place to have cattle slaughtered and processed, so Barber approached his cousins, the Pangallos, who had operated a custom processing shop, and the two families started the business as B&P Meats. The website says custom processing opened on July 18, 2022, and that the business was rebranded as Meatheads Market with plans to open a retail store alongside the plant near the end of 2022. The site's About page states the business had received USDA slaughter certification and was working toward USDA processing approval; the federal record now lists both meat and poultry processing activities along with slaughter.

The retail side sells local meats, cheeses, dairy products, and other locally sourced products, with an online shop listing individual beef, pork, and bacon items. The website states Meatheads Market is a member of the Pennsylvania Association of Meat Processors and of PA Preferred. Contact is by phone at (814) 936-2333 or email at sales@meatheadsmarket.com.

Services

  • USDA-inspected slaughter (harvest)
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Poultry processing (per FSIS activity listing)
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail meat market
  • Curing and smoking (hogs)
  • Sausage making, bulk and links
  • Ham slicing
  • Burger patties, chip steak, cube steak, stew meat and soup bones
  • Livestock handling and pickup within stated mileage bands
  • Online ordering of retail cuts

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowslambs

Products and retail

  • Beef ground chuck
  • Beef ground round
  • Beef New York strip steak
  • Beef Delmonico steak
  • Beef Angus Delmonico steak
  • Beef filet mignon
  • Beef bone-in ribeye
  • Beef chipped steak
  • Beef shaved ribeye
  • Beef stew meat
  • Beef chuck roast
  • Beef sirloin tip roast
  • Pork sausage links
  • Pork loose sausage
  • Bacon
  • Hillbilly bacon
  • Local cheeses and dairy products
  • Other locally sourced products

Hours as listed

Retail market: Sunday 10 AM to 4 PM; Monday closed; Tuesday through Thursday 10 AM to 6 PM; Friday 10 AM to 7 PM; Saturday 9 AM to 5 PM. Processing office: Monday through Friday 8 AM to 4:30 PM; Saturday and Sunday closed.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so animals can be harvested for resale under inspection or processed custom for the owner's own use with packages marked Not for Sale. Species slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, and reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year. The website posts a price list: beef harvest fee $105.00, custom processing $1.05 per pound, USDA processing $1.25 per pound, with additions for burger patties, chip and cube steak, stew meat and soup bones at 70 cents per pound and liver, heart, or tongue at $5 each. For hogs, the harvest fee is $55.00, custom processing $1.00 per pound, USDA processing $1.20 per pound, with cure and smoke at 75 cents per pound, bulk sausage 50 cents, sausage links 80 cents, ham slicing 70 cents, and liver or heart $5 each. Handling and pickup fees are listed as $50 for 0 to 10 miles, $75 for 10 to 20 miles, and $100 for 20 to 30 miles plus $1.50 for each mile over 30. A hang fee of $15 a day applies to requested days beyond 14. Processing office hours are listed as Monday through Friday, 8 AM to 4:30 PM, closed Saturday and Sunday. Booking lead times and minimums are not stated in the sources.

B & P Meats, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a full-service retail meat market selling local meats along with cheeses, dairy products, and other locally sourced items. An online shop lists 21 products with per-item prices, including beef ground chuck, ground round, New York strip, Delmonico, filet mignon, bone-in ribeye, chipped steak, shaved ribeye, stew meat, chuck roast, sirloin tip roast, pork sausage links and loose sausage, bacon, and Hillbilly bacon. The site notes that weights are approximate and prices may vary, and invites shoppers to contact the retail store for special requests or items not listed. Retail market hours are listed as Sunday 10 AM to 4 PM, Monday closed, Tuesday through Thursday 10 AM to 6 PM, Friday 10 AM to 7 PM, and Saturday 9 AM to 5 PM. Halves and quarters, bundles, delivery, and shipping are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about B & P Meats, LLC

Can a farmer sell meat processed here to the public?
The establishment is USDA-inspected under number M1130+P1130 and reports inspected slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, which is what allows meat to be sold. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, where packages are marked Not for Sale and are for the animal owner's use only. Confirm with the plant which option applies to a given animal.
What does processing cost?
The website lists a $105.00 beef harvest fee with custom processing at $1.05 per pound and USDA processing at $1.25 per pound, and a $55.00 hog harvest fee with custom processing at $1.00 per pound and USDA processing at $1.20 per pound. Additions such as burger patties, sausage, cure and smoke, and ham slicing are priced per pound. Handling and pickup fees range from $50 to $100 by distance, plus $1.50 per mile over 30 miles, and a $15 per day hang fee applies past 14 days.
Does the plant slaughter poultry?
FSIS lists poultry processing among the establishment's activities, and the establishment number includes a P prefix. Poultry slaughter is not listed among the species slaughtered under inspection, and the website does not mention poultry. Ask the plant directly.
Are there hours for dropping off animals versus shopping?
Yes, the website lists separate schedules: the processing office is open Monday through Friday, 8 AM to 4:30 PM, and closed Saturday and Sunday, while the retail market is open Sunday and Tuesday through Saturday, with Monday closed. Whether the plant is currently accepting work is not stated; hours are as listed.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
May 2, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/b-p-meats-llc, https://meatheadsmarket.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Brookville