Federally inspected establishment
EST. M9590George Farms
USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Danville, Pennsylvania, with custom butchering and a retail store.
33 Pottsgrove Road, Danville, Pennsylvania 17821 · Montour County
At a glance
- ·Listed by FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing, size class very small.
- ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, under 1,000 head per year.
- ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
- ·Secondary listings describe a retail store selling beef and pork, described as family-owned.
- ·Address differs between records: FSIS lists 33 Pottsgrove Road, some directories list 15 Pottsgrove Road.
About George Farms
George Farms operates under USDA establishment number M9590 at 33 Pottsgrove Road in Danville, Montour County, Pennsylvania. The Food Safety and Inspection Service lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing and classifies it as very small. The grant of inspection on file dates to September 4, 2013.
The establishment reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection, with an annual slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.
No website is on file. Secondary listings describe the operation as George Farms Custom Butchering and Retail Store, a family-owned business selling beef, pork, and other fresh meats, and one listing gives the street address as 15 Pottsgrove Road rather than the 33 Pottsgrove Road reported to FSIS. Beyond these points, details such as hours, booking practices, cut and wrap fees, and product lists are not yet on file.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- USDA-inspected meat slaughter
- USDA-inspected meat processing
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
- Retail-exempt sales
- Custom butchering
- Retail store
Species under inspection
Products and retail
- Beef
- Pork
- Fresh meats
For farmers and ranchers
The plant is listed with FSIS for both slaughter and processing of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, and it reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning a farmer can have animals they own killed and cut with the returned packages marked Not for Sale. Reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year and FSIS classifies the establishment as very small, so capacity is limited. Booking lead times, drop-off procedures, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in any source on file. Farmers should call (570) 275-0239 to confirm scheduling and species accepted, as listed.
George Farms reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
Secondary listings describe George Farms as a custom butchering operation with a retail store in Danville selling beef, pork, and other fresh meats, and the establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. One listing refers to keeping a family stocked with beef through the winter, which suggests bulk beef, though specific bundles, halves and quarters, prices, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not stated in the sources on file. Households should call to confirm what is available.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about George Farms
Does George Farms slaughter as well as cut meat?
Can a farmer bring an animal for personal use?
Is there a retail store?
Which address is correct?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
- Grant on file
- September 4, 2013
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Danville
- Hometown Food Company6 mi
Milton · species not reported
- Hometown Food Company7 mi
Milton · species not reported
- Pennsylvania Poultry Farms9 mi
Turbotville · Poultry
- Long Hollow Cattle Company17 mi
Bloomsburg · Cattle, Hogs · custom-exempt
- Wehry's TT&A Quality Meats22 mi
Klingerstown · Cattle, Hogs · custom-exempt
- Gibson's Custom Butchering, LLC22 mi
Hughesville · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt