Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. V794A

Hometown Food Company

Large USDA-inspected food manufacturing plant in Milton, Pennsylvania, establishment V794A.

594 N Industrial Park Road, Milton, Pennsylvania 17847 · Northumberland County

hometownfoodcompany.com

USDA inspectedFSIS export certification activity on file

At a glance

  • ·FSIS size class: large.
  • ·Grant of inspection on file since April 5, 2018.
  • ·Export certification is among the activities listed with FSIS.
  • ·No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS, and species detail is not reported.
  • ·Company website describes contract manufacturing for grocery, mass, club, convenience, foodservice, and wholesale channels.

About Hometown Food Company

Hometown Food Company operates a USDA-inspected establishment at 594 N Industrial Park Road in Milton, Northumberland County, Pennsylvania, listed under establishment number V794A. FSIS classifies the plant as large and records a grant of inspection date of April 5, 2018. The activities on file with FSIS are export certification, meat and poultry identification, voluntary processing of meat and poultry, and voluntary slaughter of meat and poultry. Species detail is not reported to FSIS, and no custom-exempt activity is reported.

The company website describes Hometown Food Company as a family of baking brands owned by private equity firm Brynwood Partners, with headquarters at 500 West Madison Street, Suite 3650, Chicago, Illinois. The site lists brand and corporate history dating to the late 1800s, including Pillsbury founded in 1872, J. Allen Smith and Company in 1883, Royal Flour Mill in 1899, Hungry Jack in 1936, the 2018 Brynwood VII purchase of baking brands and manufacturing assets, the 2019 acquisition of Arrowhead Mills and SunSpire, the 2021 addition of De Wafelbakkers, and the 2022 acquisition of Birch Benders. The website also states that the company offers contract manufacturing across grocery, mass merchandiser, warehouse club, convenience, foodservice, and distributor or wholesaler channels. A company announcement referenced in search results describes an agreement to acquire the Chef Boyardee brand from Conagra Brands, including the Chef Boyardee manufacturing facility in Milton, Pennsylvania.

This is an industrial manufacturing site rather than a local butcher shop. The website on file does not describe a retail meat counter, custom slaughter for farmers, halves or quarters, cut and wrap services, or named meat products. Details beyond the federal record and the corporate website are not yet on file.

Services

  • Export certification
  • Meat and poultry product identification
  • Voluntary processing, meat
  • Voluntary processing, poultry
  • Voluntary slaughter, meat
  • Voluntary slaughter, poultry
  • Contract manufacturing (per company website)

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

Questions about Hometown Food Company

Does this plant do custom slaughter or processing for farmers?
No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS for establishment V794A, and the website on file does not describe custom processing for individual farmers. Farmers seeking custom work should contact the plant directly at (570) 742-5737 to confirm.
Is there a retail counter where households can buy meat?
Not stated. The company website describes packaged brands and contract manufacturing, not an on-site retail meat counter.
What species does the plant handle?
Species detail is not reported to FSIS for this establishment. FSIS lists both meat and poultry identification, processing, and voluntary slaughter activities.
Who owns the plant?
The company website states Hometown Food Company is owned by private equity firm Brynwood Partners and is headquartered in Chicago, Illinois. A company announcement referenced in search results describes an agreement to acquire the Chef Boyardee brand and its Milton, Pennsylvania manufacturing facility from Conagra Brands.

Federal record

Activities
Certification - Export; Identification - Meat; Identification - Poultry; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Processing - Poultry; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Poultry
Grant on file
April 5, 2018
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Large establishment (FSIS size class)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://hometownfoodcompany.com/, https://hometownfoodcompany.com/about-us/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Milton