Federally inspected establishment
EST. M2321EST. P2321Long Hollow Cattle Company
Family farm and butcher shop near Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, slaughtering cattle and hogs under USDA inspection.
1172 Ridge Road, Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania 17815 · Columbia County
At a glance
- ·Very small FSIS establishment slaughtering cattle and hogs, under 1,000 head per year as reported.
- ·Harvest days are Wednesdays; the online request form allows up to 10 cattle or 20 pigs and does not confirm a booking.
- ·Facility near Bloomsburg was previously operated as Gensemer Farms Meats and was purchased in late 2022.
- ·Beef sold in eighths, quarters, halves, and wholes by hanging weight, with posted per-pound prices and free home delivery within a reasonable distance.
- ·Website content is branded around the family farm in Drums, while the inspected plant address on file is in Bloomsburg, Columbia County.
About Long Hollow Cattle Company
Long Hollow Cattle Company operates a USDA-inspected plant at 1172 Ridge Road, Bloomsburg, in Columbia County, Pennsylvania, under establishment number M2321+P2321. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing activities, with cattle and hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, with a slaughter volume category of 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year, and shows a grant of inspection date of April 30, 2025. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, as well as retail-exempt sales.
The business describes itself as a family-owned operation raising Hereford and Angus cattle and hogs in northeast Pennsylvania, with a home farm in the Drums area and a second farm in Long Hollow, Beaver Township, Columbia County, purchased in 1998. The website traces the family land to William Saam in the early 1880s and says Matthew Balliet and his son Jacob, the sixth generation, farm full time. Long Hollow Cattle Company as a beef-focused business was created in 2011, pigs were added later, and in late 2022 the company purchased a multi-generational butchering facility near Bloomsburg that had been owned and operated by Gensemer Farms Meats. The site states that John Gensemer has stayed active in training meat cutters. Both farms are described as preserved under the PA Agricultural Land Preservation Program, and the site references Beef Quality Assurance.
Note that the website headers and product pages are written around the farm location in Drums, while the FSIS record and the plant address place the inspected facility in Bloomsburg. A Lancaster Farming article listed in search results describes the business as a family-owned processor in Bloomsburg. Retail hours are not stated in the sources.
Services
- Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
- Meat processing
- Poultry processing (listed in the federal record)
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing of customer-owned animals
- Retail-exempt sales
- Cattle and hog harvest scheduling by online request form
- Cutting, vacuum packaging, labeling, and boxing
- Home delivery within a reasonable distance
Species under inspection
Products and retail
- Beef halves, quarters, and eighths sold by hanging weight
- Whole beef
- Ground beef and patties
- Filet and tenderloin, chuck eye filets, T-bone, strip, sirloin, round, porterhouse, Delmonico, and skirt steaks
- Eye round, chuck, and bottom round roasts
- Brisket, short ribs, back ribs, beef cubes
- Half and whole hogs
- Country style ribs, pork slices, shoulder roast, loin end roast, pork chops
- Loose sausage, hot sausage, bacon
- Smoked hams and smoked ham steaks
For farmers and ranchers
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, processing animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking is handled through a scheduling request form on the website. The site states that Wednesdays are harvest days and that requested and backup butcher dates must both be Wednesdays. Submitting the form does not confirm a booking; appointments must be confirmed with staff. Animals are recommended to arrive Tuesday evening or before 7 a.m. Wednesday unless arranged otherwise. The form caps a request at 10 cattle and 20 pigs, and asks that customers contact the shop within 48 hours of the animal being received for cutting instructions. Custom kill fees, cut and wrap rates, and deposit amounts for custom work are not stated in the sources. FSIS lists cattle and hogs as the species slaughtered under inspection, and the reported volume category is under 1,000 head per year.
Long Hollow Cattle Company reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The company sells its own beef and pork direct to households. Beef is sold by hanging weight in eighths, quarters, halves, or whole, with the website listing approximate yields and prices of $5.89 per pound for an eighth, $5.79 for a quarter, $5.69 for a half, and $5.59 for a whole animal, with example totals ranging from roughly $450 for an eighth to about $4,000 for a whole animal. Pork is listed at $3.09 per pound for a half hog, approximately 125 to 150 pounds, and $2.99 per pound for a whole hog, approximately 250 to 300 pounds. Prices are described as including meat portioned, clear vacuum packaged, labeled, boxed, and delivered within a reasonable distance, with free home delivery included on the beef prices. Orders are placed through online forms with a deposit, and the balance is due at delivery or pickup. The website says a price quoted at the time of order will be honored if prices rise. A retail storefront and hours are not described in the sources.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Long Hollow Cattle Company
Does Long Hollow Cattle Company process animals for other farmers?
What species are slaughtered here?
When can animals be delivered for harvest?
Can a household buy meat directly, and are there retail hours?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
- Grant on file
- April 30, 2025
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/long-hollow-cattle-company, https://longhollowcattle.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Bloomsburg
- George Farms17 mi
Danville · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Pennsylvania Poultry Farms19 mi
Turbotville · Poultry
- Gibson's Custom Butchering, LLC20 mi
Hughesville · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Hometown Food Company23 mi
Milton · species not reported
- Hometown Food Company23 mi
Milton · species not reported
- USA Pork Packers Inc24 mi
Hazleton · Hogs