Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1901A

Wall Meats Processing

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Wall, South Dakota, with a retail case and custom work.

21 N Creighton Rd, Wall, South Dakota 57790 · Pennington County

wallmeatprocessing.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for both slaughter and processing; cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported to FSIS.
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter, with packages marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Published custom exempt fees include boneless at 75 cents per pound, patties at $1 per pound, and smoke, cure, or seasoning at $1.42 per pound.
  • ·Retail case with local beef and pork, plus quarters, halves, and wholes arranged by phone.
  • ·Wild game processing is listed as a page on the business website.

About Wall Meats Processing

Wall Meats Processing, listed with USDA FSIS as establishment M1901A, operates at 21 N Creighton Rd in Wall, South Dakota, in Pennington County. The federal record lists both meat slaughter and meat processing activities, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, and its reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

The business website, which uses the name Wall Meat Processing, describes custom cuts and a retail case featuring local beef and pork, along with specialty and smoked items. Separate pages on the site cover a pork price list, a local beef price list, custom exempt Not for Sale work, and wild game. A 3 percent discount is noted for cash or check payment. The site also invites customers to call to get on the schedule for special occasions, and a Facebook page associated with the business mentions catering and cooked briskets.

Details beyond the federal record and the business website are not on file. The site's price list pages are largely unpopulated in the fetched text, so current prices are not stated here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Wild game processing
  • Smoking and curing
  • Special orders
  • Catering (as described on the business Facebook page)

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Local beef
  • Local pork
  • Smoked items
  • Quarters, halves, and whole animals for the freezer
  • Ground patties
  • Briskets

Hours as listed

The website states "Open today 08:00 am - 05:00 pm" and invites visitors during normal business hours. A full weekly schedule is not stated.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both federally inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb listed as species slaughtered. Custom-exempt work is packaged marked Not for Sale. The website posts a custom exempt fee structure that includes boneless processing at 75 cents per pound, half of a half at $5, making patties at $1 per pound, and smoke, cure, or seasoning at $1.42 per pound, with a note to call for special requests. A 3 percent discount is listed for cash or check. Booking is by phone at (605) 279-2348. FSIS lists the plant as very small with a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. Scheduling lead times, drop-off procedures, and minimums are not stated in the sources.

Wall Meats Processing reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a retail case featuring local beef and pork plus specialty and smoked items, and invites customers to call for special orders or to arrange quarters, halves, and wholes for the freezer. A pork price list and a local beef price list are referenced on the site, though prices are not shown in the fetched text. A 3 percent discount is listed for cash or check payment. Online ordering, delivery, and shipping are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Wall Meats Processing

Does the plant slaughter as well as cut and wrap?
Yes. The FSIS record lists both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities for establishment M1901A, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection.
Can a rancher bring an animal for personal freezer beef?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. The website posts custom exempt fees for beef, hogs, and sheep. Scheduling is by phone at (605) 279-2348.
Can households buy meat directly?
The website describes a retail case featuring local beef and pork and says customers can call for special orders or arrange quarters, halves, and wholes. The plant also reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Online ordering and shipping are not mentioned.
What are the hours and prices?
The website shows "Open today 08:00 am - 05:00 pm" and refers to normal business hours, but does not give a full weekly schedule in the text on file. Price list pages exist for pork and local beef, but the prices themselves are not stated in the fetched text, apart from the custom exempt fees. A 3 percent discount is listed for cash or check.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
January 28, 2026
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://wallmeatprocessing.com/, https://wallmeatprocessing.com/price-list) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Wall