Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M40106

Cherry Meat Company

Family owned USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Chapel Hill, Tennessee.

2830 Ezell Road, Chapel Hill, Tennessee 37034 · Marshall County

cherrymeat.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·USDA establishment M40106, listed by FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing.
  • ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Both USDA-inspected processing for resale and custom-exempt processing for the animal's owner.
  • ·Very small plant in the FSIS under 1,000 head per year slaughter category.
  • ·Two phone numbers on file: (615) 476-1149 with FSIS and (931) 364-7924 on the website.

About Cherry Meat Company

Cherry Meat Company operates a very small USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant at 2830 Ezell Road in Chapel Hill, Marshall County, Tennessee, under establishment number M40106. The federal record lists both Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter activities, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection. The grant of inspection date on file is July 14, 2021, and the plant's FSIS slaughter volume category is 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale.

The company's website describes the business as family owned and operated, serving Middle Tennessee, and as a USDA inspected processing facility and whole animal butcher. The site states the business was established in 2012 and emphasizes humane handling standards and customizing processing to fit a customer's market. Named team leaders are Paige Alden, listed as owner and manager, and Patrick McCord, listed as head butcher and manager with over 15 years of experience in USDA and European style processing. Both are described as trained in humane handling procedures by Erica Voodg. The site also mentions bringing in guest butchers and industry leaders for ongoing training, and support for Williamson County 4-H, Future Farmers of America, the Chapel Hill Youth Athletic Association, and Big Brothers Big Sisters of Nashville.

Phone numbers differ between sources: the federal record lists (615) 476-1149, while the website lists (931) 364-7924. The website's contact page carries a dated notice, 06/09/20, stating the plant was booked and not accepting appointments at that time; that notice predates the grant of inspection date on file and current booking status is not stated. Hours, prices, retail counter details, and shipping are not on file.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animal owners
  • Whole animal butchery
  • Processing of livestock for resale
  • Cut and wrap with labeling and vacuum sealing
  • Custom label printing with a farm logo

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Breakfast sausage, described by the plant as a family recipe
  • Seasonings (listed as a contact form topic)

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb among species slaughtered under inspection, so animals can be processed either for resale under inspection or as custom work for the owner's own use with packages marked Not for Sale. The website states the facility processes livestock for resale or custom processing, can print a family farm's logo on the meats, labels and vacuum seals cuts, and emphasizes humane handling; both named managers are described as trained in humane handling procedures. Slaughter volume is in the FSIS under 1,000 head per year category. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, and processing fees are not stated in the sources, though the contact form lists Processing Costs as an inquiry topic. A notice dated 06/09/20 on the contact page said the plant was booked and not accepting appointments at that time; current availability is not stated. Farmers should call to confirm.

Cherry Meat Company reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website states the facility offers custom processing for a family's table and that cuts are labeled and vacuum sealed, and it names an award winning breakfast sausage made from a family recipe. The sources do not describe a retail counter, halves or quarters for sale, bundles, online ordering, delivery, or shipping, so households should contact the plant directly to ask what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Cherry Meat Company

Can I have my own animal processed here for my family?
Yes, as listed. The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and the website states it offers custom processing for your family's table.
What species does the plant slaughter?
Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are reported to FSIS as species slaughtered under inspection. No other species are listed.
Is the plant taking appointments?
Not stated. The website contact page carries a notice dated 06/09/20 saying the plant was booked and not accepting appointments at that time. That notice predates the 2021 grant of inspection date on file, and current booking status is not on file. Call to confirm.
Which phone number should I use?
The federal record lists (615) 476-1149. The company website and location page list (931) 364-7924. Both appear in the sources.
Are hours and prices published?
No. Hours, processing fees, and retail availability are not stated in the sources. The website contact form lists Processing Costs as an inquiry topic.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 14, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://cherrymeat.com/, https://cherrymeat.com/about/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Chapel Hill