Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M46767

Pott's Meats

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Wartrace, Tennessee, paired with a family farm and retail store.

320 Potts Rd, Wartrace, Tennessee 37183 · Bedford County

pottsmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federal record lists both slaughter and processing for cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb.
  • ·FSIS slaughter volume category 1.0, under 1,000 head per year, classified as a small establishment.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales to FSIS.
  • ·Website describes a combined farm and processing operation with a retail store and online store with local pickup.
  • ·Printable beef and pork cut sheets and a processing date scheduling page are on the website.

About Pott's Meats

Pott's Meats operates under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment number M46767 at 320 Potts Rd in Wartrace, Bedford County, Tennessee. The federal record lists both meat slaughter and meat processing activities, with a grant of inspection dated June 29, 2020. FSIS classifies the plant as small and places its slaughter volume in category 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, where animals owned by the customer are returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The business website presents Pott's Meats as both a farm and a processor, connected with Valley Home Farm, and states that the operation has been in place since 1953 and serves Middle Tennessee through five generations. The site describes a fifth generation butcher and sixth generation farmer, and says that being both farm and processor lets the family keep control of the meat from start to finish rather than sending animals to outside plants. Two beef lines are described, grass-fed and grass-finished, and grass-fed with grain finishing, which the site calls the family standard.

The website advertises a processing scheduling page and printable beef and pork cut sheets for customers ordering custom selections of cuts. It also runs an online store, with sign-in required to see pricing, offering local pickup and noting that delivery is coming soon. Details beyond what is listed here, including hours, fees, and booking lead times, are not on file.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Custom cut sheets for beef and pork
  • Smoking and ready-to-eat meat production
  • Online store with local pickup
  • Retail store

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Grass-fed, grain-finished beef
  • 100% grass-fed and grass-finished beef
  • Heritage pork
  • Valley Home Farm lamb
  • Small batch poultry
  • Ready to eat smoked meats
  • Bundle boxes and meat packages
  • Whole and half animals
  • Retail cuts
  • Pantry goods
  • Farm merchandise
  • Digital gift cards

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows Pott's Meats slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under USDA inspection, and also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which the customer's own animals are returned in packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS lists the plant in the smallest slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. The website has a page inviting customers to schedule a processing date and offers printable beef and pork cut sheets for custom cut selections. Specific booking lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources. Farmers should contact the plant at 931-389-9450 to confirm availability, as listed.

Pott's Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a retail store at the Wartrace location and an online store organized by category, including bundle boxes, grain-finished beef, grass-finished beef, pork, smoked and ready-to-eat meats, Valley Home Farm lamb, poultry, pantry goods, and farm merchandise. Whole and half animals, retail cuts, and packages are listed among what is offered. Pricing requires creating an account and signing in. The site states that sign-up allows browsing of products available for local pickup and that delivery is coming soon. Shipping is not mentioned. Digital gift cards are listed among customer favorites.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Pott's Meats

What species does Pott's Meats slaughter?
The species reported to FSIS for slaughter under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The website also lists poultry products under the Small Batch Poultry heading, but poultry slaughter is not part of the meat establishment record on file.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The federal record shows the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning animals owned by the customer are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale. The website has a page for scheduling a processing date and printable beef and pork cut sheets. Booking windows, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources.
Can households buy meat directly?
Yes, according to the website, which describes a retail store at the Wartrace location and an online store with bundle boxes, beef, pork, lamb, poultry, and smoked meats. Pricing is shown only after creating an account and signing in. Local pickup is offered and the site says delivery is coming soon.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is 931-389-9450.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
June 29, 2020
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://pottsmeats.com/, https://pottsmeats.com/store) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Wartrace