Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M20594EST. P20594

Tooele Valley Meat

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Grantsville, Utah, handling cattle, hogs, and sheep.

985 East Main St., Grantsville, Utah 84029 · Tooele County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federal grant of inspection dated August 12, 2021.
  • ·Listed by FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·FSIS size class small, with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.

About Tooele Valley Meat

Tooele Valley Meat is a small USDA-inspected establishment at 985 East Main St. in Grantsville, Utah, in Tooele County. It operates under establishment numbers M20594 and P20594, with a federal grant of inspection dated August 12, 2021. FSIS lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing.

The species slaughtered under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant falls in the smallest FSIS slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

The website on file is a Facebook page, and no website text was available for this record. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, cut and wrap options, and ownership, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Meat processing under USDA inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowsroaster pigssheeplambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

FSIS lists Tooele Valley Meat for slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, both under federal inspection and on a custom-exempt basis where the animal remains the customer's property and the meat is packaged Not for Sale. The plant is in the smallest FSIS volume class, under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill day schedules, hanging weight pricing, and cut and wrap fees are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (435) 884-3837 to confirm what work is being scheduled.

Tooele Valley Meat reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which indicates some direct sale of meat at the location, but no source on file describes a retail counter, product list, bundles, halves or quarters, delivery, or online ordering. Household buyers should call (435) 884-3837 to confirm what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Tooele Valley Meat

What animals does Tooele Valley Meat slaughter?
The plant reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection to FSIS. Other species are not listed in the federal record.
Can I have my own animal processed here?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, fees, and minimums are not stated in the sources on file, so call (435) 884-3837 to confirm.
Can households buy meat directly?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows direct sale at the establishment. No source on file describes a retail counter, product selection, hours, or shipping.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (435) 884-3837, and the website on file is a Facebook page.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
August 12, 2021
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Grantsville