Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M874EST. P19237EST. V874

Utah State University Meat Science Lab

USDA-inspected university meat lab in Wellsville, Utah, with red meat slaughter and processing.

Matthew Hillyard Animal, Teaching and Research Center 3580 South Hwy 89/91, Wellsville, Utah 84339 · Cache County

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·USDA-inspected for meat slaughter and meat processing, plus voluntary poultry processing.
  • ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·FSIS very small size class; slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·No custom-exempt activity reported to FSIS.
  • ·No website on file; details beyond the federal record are not documented.

About Utah State University Meat Science Lab

Utah State University Meat Science Lab is a USDA-inspected establishment at the Matthew Hillyard Animal, Teaching and Research Center, 3580 South Hwy 89/91, Wellsville, Utah, in Cache County. It holds establishment numbers M874, P19237, and V874, and its grant of inspection on file is dated August 25, 2017.

The federal record lists activities of meat processing, meat slaughter, and voluntary poultry processing. Species slaughtered under inspection are reported to FSIS as cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. FSIS classes the plant as very small, with a slaughter volume category of 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS.

No website is on file for this establishment, and no website text was available. A secondary directory listing describes the lab as providing slaughter and processing services in Wellsville serving the Cache Valley, and a Utah State University page refers to a Meats Research Lab on the Logan campus with fabrication capabilities, which may be a separate facility. Details beyond the federal record, including scheduling, pricing, retail sales, and cut and wrap options, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Voluntary poultry processing

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogsroaster pigssheeplambs

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, at a very small scale of under 1,000 head per year. No custom-exempt slaughter or processing is reported to FSIS, so animals harvested here would be handled under federal inspection as listed. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, and hanging or cooler policies are not stated in any source on file. Farmers should contact the lab at (801) 797-2107 to confirm current availability and terms.

Utah State University Meat Science Lab operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

Questions about Utah State University Meat Science Lab

What animals does this plant slaughter?
The species reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also holds a voluntary poultry processing listing.
Can I have an animal processed for my own freezer?
The federal record shows no custom-exempt activity, and no source on file describes custom processing terms. Contact the lab at (801) 797-2107 to ask about current options.
Is there a retail counter or online ordering?
Not stated. No website is on file and no source describes retail sales, bundles, delivery, or shipping.
Is the plant currently accepting work?
That is not stated in any source. The federal listing shows a grant of inspection dated August 25, 2017, as listed. Availability should be confirmed directly with the establishment.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Poultry
Grant on file
August 25, 2017
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Wellsville