Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M31647EST. P31647EST. V31647

Theurers Custom Meat Inc

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Lewiston, Utah, with a retail counter and smokehouse.

880 West Center, Lewiston, Utah 84320 · Cache County

theurersqualitymeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHACCP plan and Sanitation Standard Operating Procedures described on the websiteGood Manufacturing Practice programs described on the website

At a glance

  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison under inspection per FSIS; website also lists goat harvest.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Posted harvest and cut-and-wrap price list, including vacuum seal, curing and smoking, and patty charges.
  • ·Retail counter with whole, half and quarter beef and whole or half hogs, plus individual cuts and deli items.
  • ·Very small FSIS size class; slaughter volume category 2.0.

About Theurers Custom Meat Inc

Theurers Custom Meat Inc, operating as Theurer's Quality Meats, is a very small USDA-inspected establishment at 880 West Center in Lewiston, Cache County, Utah. It holds establishment numbers M31647, P31647 and V31647, with a grant of inspection date on file of October 6, 2020, and is listed with FSIS for meat slaughter, meat processing, and voluntary slaughter and processing of meat. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. The website also lists goat harvest. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, as well as retail-exempt sales. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 2.0.

The website describes a family owned facility in Lewiston with a commitment to food safety passed down through four generations, and states that a new processing facility was built in May 2004, the year of the company's 100th anniversary. Rick Theurer and Trevor Theurer are named as owners. The site describes HACCP compliance, Good Manufacturing Practice programs, and Sanitation Standard Operating Procedures that include daily pre-operational inspections, with USDA inspection and process verification before the mark of inspection is applied.

The operation combines harvest and custom cutting with a retail product list covering beef, pork, lamb, chicken and deli items. The website describes the plant as a USDA-inspected harvest, processing, and smokehouse operation. The federal record lists the address ZIP as 84320, matching the site's contact page, while the site's home page footer shows 84333.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Meat processing under USDA inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Cut and wrap
  • Cut and vacuum seal
  • Curing and smoking
  • Sausage and link sausage making
  • Patty making
  • Private label packaging
  • Retail meat sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogsroaster pigslambsbisonyak

Products and retail

  • Choice beef whole, half, or quarter
  • Lean, extra lean, and diet lean ground beef
  • Ground beef patties and 10 lb patty boxes
  • Ribeye, New York, T-bone, top sirloin, petite sirloin, flat iron, flank, skirt, and cube steaks
  • Chuck, rump, sirloin tip, and cross rib roasts, London broil, tri tip
  • Brisket, short ribs, back ribs, stew meat, soup bones
  • Marrow and dog bones, heart, liver, tongue, oxtail
  • Whole or half all natural hog
  • Boneless and bone-in pork chops, loin and shoulder roasts
  • Spare ribs, baby back ribs, country style ribs
  • Hickory smoked bacon, fresh side pork, hickory smoked bone-in ham, ham steaks, ham hocks
  • Pork sausage, sausage links, fresh ground pork
  • Luau hogs
  • Lamb chops, leg of lamb, leg steaks, shoulder roast and steaks, lamb stew meat, ground lamb, lamb sausage
  • Chicken breasts, tenders, drumsticks, thighs, IQF breasts, breaded chicken
  • Sliced ham, turkey, and roast beef
  • All beef hotdogs, bratwurst, cheddar and jalapeno sausages

Hours as listed

8:00am to 5:00pm Monday through Friday; 9:00am to 1:00pm Saturday; closed Sunday. The site also notes a closure Thursday November 27 through Sunday November 30 for Thanksgiving.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant is listed with FSIS for meat slaughter and processing and reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning animals owned by the customer can be processed with packages marked Not for Sale. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison; the website adds goat to the list of animals harvested and states that everything is processed to the customer's specifications. Posted processing charges include a beef harvest charge of $125.00, beef cut and vacuum seal at $0.75 per pound or $0.89 per pound including bone-in product or private label, patties at $0.50 per pound and vacuum sealed patties at $0.70 per pound. Hog charges are a $60.00 harvest charge, cut and wrap at $0.75 per pound, cut and vacuum seal at $0.89 per pound, curing and smoking at $0.99 per pound, and link sausage at $2.00 per pound. Lamb under 100 pounds carcass weight is $110.00 for harvest and processing or $125.00 with vacuum seal; over 100 pounds is $125.00 or $150.00 with vacuum seal. Goats are priced the same as lambs. Prices are noted as subject to change without notice. Cutting instruction sheets for beef, pork and lamb are offered for download, but the site states the instruction form cannot be submitted online and asks customers to call so staff can walk them through the process. Booking lead times, deposits and drop-off scheduling are not stated in the sources.

Theurers Custom Meat Inc reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The plant reports retail-exempt sales and publishes a retail price list covering beef, pork, lamb, chicken and deli meats. Beef is sold whole, half, or quarter as choice beef at $4.89 per pound, and hogs whole or half as all natural hog at $2.99 per pound, alongside individual cuts such as ribeye steak at $18.95 per pound and hickory smoked bacon at $5.99 per pound. The site asks customers to call ahead for special orders and notes that a few days notice is very helpful. Prices are subject to change without notice. Delivery, shipping and online ordering are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Theurers Custom Meat Inc

Can a farmer bring an animal here for custom processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged Not for Sale, and the website states everything is processed to the customer's specifications. Availability and scheduling are not stated in the sources, so call to confirm as listed.
What animals are slaughtered?
FSIS lists cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison as species slaughtered under inspection. The website states the facility harvests beef, bison, goat, lamb, and pork.
Can a household buy meat directly?
Yes, as listed. The plant reports retail-exempt sales and publishes retail prices for beef, pork, lamb, chicken and deli meats, including whole, half or quarter beef and whole or half hogs. The site asks buyers to call ahead for special orders with a few days notice.
Does the plant ship or deliver orders?
Shipping, delivery and online ordering are not mentioned in the sources. The processing instruction form also cannot be submitted online; the site directs customers to call (435) 258-0100 or email.
Are halal, kosher, or organic certifications offered?
No halal, kosher, or organic certification is stated in the sources or the federal record.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
October 6, 2020
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://theurersqualitymeats.com/, https://theurersqualitymeats.com/contact-us/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Lewiston