Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M34056EST. P34056EST. V34056

Olsen Farms Meats

Doing business as Smokey Ridge Meats

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Chewelah, Washington, operating as Smokey Ridge Meats.

2450 Heine Road, Chewelah, Washington 99109 · Stevens County

olsenfarms.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Grant of inspection on file since July 26, 2021.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats under inspection.
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small, with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Poultry processing is listed among FSIS activities.

About Olsen Farms Meats

Olsen Farms Meats, doing business as Smokey Ridge Meats, is a very small USDA-inspected establishment at 2450 Heine Road in Chewelah, Stevens County, Washington. It holds establishment numbers M34056, P34056, and V34056, with a grant of inspection dated July 26, 2021. FSIS lists its activities as meat processing, meat slaughter, poultry processing, voluntary processing of meat, and voluntary slaughter of meat.

The plant reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats under inspection. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

Secondary listings describe Olsen Farms as a small family farm in northeastern Washington raising and selling beef, pork, and lamb, with ordering for home delivery or market pickup. The establishment website on file returned only a page title when fetched, so details beyond the federal record and these brief listings are not yet on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing under federal inspection
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowssheeplambsgoats

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Lamb

For farmers and ranchers

The establishment reports both federally inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals remain the property of the customer and the resulting packages are marked Not for Sale. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats. The reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (509) 935-6213 to confirm what work is being accepted, as listed.

Olsen Farms Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The plant reports retail-exempt sales, and secondary listings describe Olsen Farms as a family farm selling naturally and sustainably raised beef, pork, and lamb, with ordering for home delivery or market pickup. Specific bundles, halves and quarters, shipping areas, market locations, and prices are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Olsen Farms Meats

Does this plant do custom processing for farmers?
Yes. The federal record shows it reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and marks the packages Not for Sale. Scheduling details and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
What species can be slaughtered here?
Cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats are reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection. Poultry processing is listed as an FSIS activity, but poultry slaughter is not listed.
Can households buy meat directly?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales, and secondary listings mention ordering for home delivery or market pickup of beef, pork, and lamb. Retail hours, a storefront address, and prices are not stated in the sources on file.
Is the plant currently accepting animals?
Not stated. The federal record confirms the inspection grant and reported activities as listed, but current availability is not documented in the sources. Contact (509) 935-6213 to confirm.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
July 26, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.olsenfarms.com/, https://www.olsenfarms.com/meat) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Chewelah