Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1712

Florida First Meats Co., LLC

Doing business as None

USDA-inspected cattle and hog slaughter and processing plant in Frostproof, Florida.

7710 True Rd., Frostproof, Florida 33843 · Highlands County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS establishment M1712, listed for meat slaughter and meat processing
  • ·Cattle and hogs slaughtered under federal inspection
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file: April 9, 2025
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales
  • ·Very small plant, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year

About Florida First Meats Co., LLC

Florida First Meats Co., LLC operates at 7710 True Rd. in Frostproof, Florida, in Highlands County, under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment number M1712. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of April 9, 2025. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small.

The species reported slaughtered under federal inspection are cattle and hogs. The plant's reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest FSIS category, under 1,000 head per year. Along with federally inspected work, the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it handles animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

The website on file is a Facebook page, and no website text was available for this record. Search results also reference an F1 Meat Co site describing a USDA-inspected meat processing operation in Frostproof, Florida, which appears to relate to the same operation, though the connection is not confirmed in the federal record. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, and product lists, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Florida First Meats Co., LLC for slaughter of cattle and hogs and for meat processing, at a reported volume of under 1,000 head per year. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, so a farmer can have animals they own processed with packages returned marked Not for Sale, and it also holds a federal grant of inspection dated April 9, 2025, which is what a producer needs if the meat will be sold by the cut. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Call (863) 528-7068 to confirm current availability and terms.

Florida First Meats Co., LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, which generally means some direct sales to consumers occur at the plant. The sources on file do not state retail counter hours, whether halves or quarters are sold, whether bundles are offered, or whether delivery, shipping, or online ordering is available. Households should contact the plant directly at (863) 528-7068 to ask what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Florida First Meats Co., LLC

What animals does this plant slaughter?
The federal record lists cattle and hogs as the species slaughtered under inspection. No other species are reported.
Can I have my own animal processed here and keep the meat?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, which means it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling details, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can I buy meat directly from the plant?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales. The sources on file do not state retail hours, cuts offered, or whether shipping or online ordering is available.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (863) 528-7068.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
April 9, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Frostproof