Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M48066EST. P48066EST. V48066

Route 66 Meat Processing

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a retail meat market in Sayre, Oklahoma.

102 Venture Rd., Sayre, Oklahoma 73662 · Beckham County

route66meatprocessing.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter, as reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales, as reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·FSIS very small establishment; slaughter volume category 1.0, under 1,000 head per year
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file with FSIS: March 27, 2023
  • ·Both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt harvest offered, per the website
  • ·Retail market with individual cuts, seafood, and beef from the owners' Hickey Farms
  • ·Beef sold as whole, half or quarter; Berkshire pork sold as half or whole

About Route 66 Meat Processing

Route 66 Meat Processing operates at 102 Venture Rd. in Sayre, Beckham County, Oklahoma, under FSIS establishment numbers M48066, P48066 and V48066. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry slaughter, poultry processing, and voluntary meat slaughter and processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of March 27, 2023. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, with a slaughter volume category of 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are reported as species slaughtered under inspection. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The business presents itself as Route 66 Meat Processing & Market and states it was established in 2020, three years before the grant of inspection date on file with FSIS. Its website says it offers both custom and USDA inspected harvest and processing and that it processes beef, bison, swine, sheep and goats. The site describes the location as one quarter mile south of I-40 off Highway 283. Species named on the website include bison and goats, which are not among the species reported to FSIS for inspected slaughter.

Alongside processing, the operation runs a retail meat market selling individual cuts, fresh meats, seafood, and other Oklahoma goods, and lists wholesale products. Beef sold at the market is described as raised and fed by the owning family at Hickey Farms, and pork is described as Berkshire pork raised by neighbors at Hartman Farms in Sayre.

Services

  • USDA-inspected slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
  • Poultry slaughter and processing (per FSIS activities)
  • Voluntary meat slaughter and processing
  • Retail meat market
  • Wholesale products
  • Booking by phone or online form

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogslambs

Products and retail

  • Beef, whole, half or quarter
  • Berkshire pork, half or whole
  • Individual fresh meat cuts
  • Seafood
  • Other Oklahoma goods

Hours as listed

Monday to Friday: 8am to 5:30pm. Saturday: by appointment only. Sunday: closed.

For farmers and ranchers

The website invites livestock owners to call to be placed on the harvest list, and states that both custom and USDA inspected harvest and processing are offered for beef, bison, swine, sheep and goats. FSIS lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection, so producers with bison or goats should confirm directly which route, inspected or custom-exempt, applies to their animals. Custom-exempt work returns meat marked Not for Sale to the animal's owner. The plant is a very small establishment slaughtering under 1,000 head per year, so scheduling capacity, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap pricing are not stated in the sources and should be confirmed by phone at (580) 729-1030.

Route 66 Meat Processing reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Households can buy individual cuts at the retail market, which the website says carries a variety of fresh meats, seafood, and other Oklahoma goods. Whole, half, and quarter beef are available by booking over the phone, with the buyer indicating the amount of meat wanted and the plant calling back to confirm order details. Pork is sold in halves or wholes and is described as Berkshire pork from Hartman Farms in Sayre. The website says staff will try to have meat ready as close as possible to the booked date and will keep customers informed of progress. Delivery, shipping, and online checkout are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Route 66 Meat Processing

What species does this plant handle?
FSIS reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection, and lists poultry slaughter and processing activities. The website says the plant processes beef, bison, swine, sheep and goats. Producers with bison or goats should confirm whether the work would be inspected or custom-exempt.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and its website invites livestock owners to call to be added to the harvest list. Booking lead times, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources.
Can households buy meat directly?
Yes, as listed. The website describes a retail meat market with individual cuts, fresh meats, seafood and Oklahoma goods, plus whole, half or quarter beef and half or whole Berkshire pork booked by phone.
Does the plant ship or deliver orders?
Shipping and delivery are not mentioned in the sources. Orders are described as booked by phone or through the website form and picked up at 102 Venture Rd. in Sayre.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
March 27, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.route66meatprocessing.com/, https://www.route66meatprocessing.com/about) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Sayre