Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47815EST. V47815

South Canadian Meats LLC

USDA-inspected beef slaughter and processing in Thomas, Oklahoma, with retail counters in Thomas and Clinton.

24005 E 880 RD, Thomas, Oklahoma 73669 · Custer County

southcanadianmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptFSIS export certification activityHACCP and Sanitation SOP programs (as described by the plant)

At a glance

  • ·FSIS-listed for cattle, hog, and bison slaughter, in the under 1,000 head per year volume category.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales to FSIS.
  • ·Two retail locations, Thomas and Clinton, Oklahoma.
  • ·Producer services include USDA quality grading, private labeling, and individualized yield reports, as listed.
  • ·Beef shares sold by waitlist with deposits of $400 whole, $200 half, $100 quarter.

About South Canadian Meats LLC

South Canadian Meats LLC operates a federally inspected plant at 24005 E 880 Rd in Thomas, Oklahoma, in Custer County. The establishment holds FSIS establishment numbers M47815 and V47815, with a grant of inspection dated June 26, 2022. FSIS lists it under meat slaughter, meat processing, voluntary slaughter and processing of meat, and export certification, and classifies it as Very Small. The plant reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and bison under inspection, with a reported slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The company describes itself as family-owned and operated, named after the South Canadian River that flows through Custer County, and started by the Payne family. Jennifer Payne is identified as CEO. The website emphasizes beef, stating that the facility processes beef for its own retail stores and works with local cattle producers. Services listed on the site include USDA-inspected beef processing, USDA Quality Grading, private labeling, value-added products, individualized yield reports, wholesale orders, retail cuts, and beef shares. Pork processing is listed with a note that more information is coming soon, and a wild game cut sheet is offered for download alongside beef and pork cut sheets. The federal record shows hogs and bison among species slaughtered under inspection, while the website is written primarily around beef.

In addition to the Thomas plant, the business lists a second retail location at 2006 W Gary Blvd in Clinton, Oklahoma. The site states a federal inspector is on-site each day and that the operation follows Sanitation Standard Operating Procedures and HACCP plans, allowing beef processed there to be sold across state lines. An open-door policy and facility tours for producers are described.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Export certification
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat
  • USDA quality grading
  • Private labeling
  • Value-added products
  • Individualized yield reports
  • Cut sheet based custom cutting
  • Wholesale orders
  • Online ordering
  • Facility tours

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogsbison

Products and retail

  • Beef shares (whole, half, quarter)
  • Ribeye steaks
  • New York strip steaks
  • Tenderloin filet mignon
  • Rib steaks and T-bones
  • Flat iron steaks
  • Picanha steaks
  • Denver/chuck eye steaks
  • Top sirloin steaks
  • Flank steak
  • Skirt steak
  • Brisket
  • Short ribs
  • Tri-tip roast
  • Chuck roast
  • Round roast
  • Bone-in and boneless arm roast
  • Stew meat
  • Tenderized cube steak
  • 80/20 ground beef
  • Ground beef patties
  • Cowboy burgers
  • Beef brats
  • Soup bones
  • Pork bacon
  • Pork breakfast sausage
  • Boneless pork chops
  • Pork brats
  • Pork butt
  • Chicken breast
  • Meat sticks
  • Curated freezer boxes and packs
  • Gift cards

Hours as listed

M-F: 9AM to 7PM | Sat: 9AM to 2PM, as stated on the website.

For farmers and ranchers

The website states that producers reserve a processing date by calling the plant, downloading and completing a beef cut sheet, and dropping the animal and completed cut sheet at the Thomas facility. It asks that animals be kept off feed for at least 12 hours prior to drop off. The site says each animal is assigned a unique identification number immediately after harvest and that only one side is processed and ground at a time to keep product identity. Listed producer services include USDA inspection allowing direct-to-consumer sales across state lines, USDA quality grading (Prime, Choice, Select), private labeling, value-added products, and individualized yield reports. Producers are invited to tour the facility under an open-door policy. Two phone numbers appear on the site: 580-661-3822 site-wide and 580-661-3820 on the booking section. FSIS lists the establishment phone as (580) 661-3822. Custom-exempt slaughter is reported to FSIS, so customer-owned animals can be returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Prices, scheduling lead times, minimums, and kill or cut-and-wrap fees are not stated in the sources.

South Canadian Meats LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Retail cuts are sold at two locations, the Thomas plant at 24005 E 880 Rd and a store at 2006 W Gary Blvd in Clinton, Oklahoma. The site offers whole, half, and quarter beef shares from cattle described as raised on the company farm in Thomas and processed in the USDA-inspected facility, with a waitlist form and deposits of $400 whole, $200 half, and $100 quarter. The site says prices are estimates that vary with final hanging weight and that the office contacts customers within two business days to confirm the order and collect the deposit. Curated boxes and packs are listed, including a Grill Pack at $110, Culinary Steak Pack at $185, Smoking Box at $190, Ultimate Steak Pack at $165, Crock Pot Box at $80, Family Pack at $295, and a Cook's Choice Box at $110, along with ground beef and hamburger packs; other box pricing is by phone or in person. An online shop and gift cards are offered. Delivery or shipping to households is not described in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about South Canadian Meats LLC

Can I bring my own animal for processing?
Yes, as listed. FSIS records show the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, and the website describes reserving a processing date by phone, completing a beef cut sheet, and dropping the animal at the Thomas facility with animals off feed at least 12 hours beforehand. Availability at any given time is not stated.
What species are slaughtered here?
The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and bison as species slaughtered under inspection. The website is written mainly around beef and lists pork processing with a note that more information is coming soon. Beef, pork, and wild game cut sheets are offered for download.
Can meat processed here be sold to customers?
The plant holds federal grants of inspection (M47815 and V47815) and reports retail-exempt sales. The website states beef processed there can be sold direct-to-consumer across state lines. Custom-exempt work is returned in packages marked Not for Sale.
Do they ship or deliver?
Shipping and delivery to households are not stated in the sources. The site offers an online shop and lists two retail locations, in Thomas and Clinton, Oklahoma.

Federal record

Activities
Certification - Export; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
June 26, 2022
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://southcanadianmeats.com/, https://southcanadianmeats.com/our-services/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Thomas