Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M45479EST. P45479

Rettland Farm, LLC

Doing business as Rettland Farm Meat Company; The Farmstead Butcher

USDA-inspected poultry slaughter and meat processing at Rettland Farm in Gettysburg, with a retail butcher shop.

2776 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania 17325 · Adams County

thefarmsteadbutcher.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS lists poultry as the only species slaughtered under inspection; slaughter volume category 3.0 and size class very small.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt processing and retail-exempt sales to FSIS.
  • ·Retail shop address on the website (1863 Gettysburg Village Drive, Suite H890) differs from the federal record address (2776 Baltimore Pike).
  • ·Website states all sausage is made in house with no premixes, across pork, chicken, turkey, beef, and lamb.
  • ·Sourcing standards on the website prohibit antibiotics and synthetic growth promoters and require pasture or deep bedded housing depending on species.

About Rettland Farm, LLC

Rettland Farm, LLC operates under establishment numbers M45479 and P45479 at 2776 Baltimore Pike in Gettysburg, Adams County, Pennsylvania. The federal record lists the plant as doing business as Rettland Farm Meat Company and The Farmstead Butcher, with FSIS activities of meat processing, poultry processing, and poultry slaughter. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small, with a grant of inspection date on file of September 15, 2025. Poultry is the only species reported slaughtered under inspection, and the FSIS slaughter volume category is 3.0. The plant also reports custom-exempt processing and retail-exempt sales.

The business website describes a farm and butchery that grew out of direct-to-consumer livestock sales. According to the site, pasture raised livestock and poultry were first produced at Rettland Farm for direct sale in 2007, and The Farmstead Butcher was established in 2017 on the farm premises after the operators identified a lack of adequate meat processing services in the region. The site states that sausage is made in house from pork, chicken, turkey, beef, and lamb using the shop's own recipes and spice blends, with no premixes.

The website lists sourcing standards applied to all animals used in its products, including no antibiotics or synthetic growth promoters, pasture based production for cattle, sheep, and goats with a preference for 100 percent grassfed and grassfinished, pasture based production for meat chickens and turkeys harvested April through December, and deep bedded housing with sunlight and natural ventilation for pigs, with no slatted floors, liquid manure systems, or gestation and lactation crates. Named sources are Rettland Farm in Gettysburg, Stone Ridge Manor in Gettysburg, Jonathan Brenneman in Lititz, and Moses Stoltzfus in Dry Run. Note that the federal record address is 2776 Baltimore Pike while the website lists the retail shop at 1863 Gettysburg Village Drive, Suite H890, Gettysburg, with a different phone number.

Services

  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt processing (as reported to FSIS)
  • Retail-exempt sales (as reported to FSIS)
  • In-house sausage making
  • Smokehouse and curing
  • Retail butcher shop
  • Online ordering
  • Local delivery
  • Farmers market and pickup locations

Species under inspection

chickensturkeys

Products and retail

  • Pork, chicken, turkey, beef, and lamb sausages made in house
  • Mexican style chorizo, smoked linguica, jalapeno popper sausage, bratwurst, cheddar brats, fresh and smoked kielbasa, smoked andouille, maple breakfast sausage, hot and sweet Italian, spicy Creole, spicy Korean style, chipotle and honey pork
  • Chicken chili verde and chicken tomato basil sausage
  • Lamb garlic and rosemary sausage, lamb merguez
  • Ground beef bundles, beef burger patties, bacon cheeseburger patties, grain fed beef steak strips and tips
  • Smoked pork chop, cottage bacon with natural cure, Carolina style pork BBQ
  • Farmstead frankfurters
  • Soy free, non-GMO pastured whole chickens, 9-piece cut chickens, and cases of 10 birds
  • Chicken breasts, legs, and split party wings
  • Heritage pork, grassfed beef, pastured chicken, lamb, turkey
  • Charcuterie, dairy, eggs, pet food, accompaniments

Hours as listed

Wednesday through Sunday: 10am to 6pm. Monday and Tuesday: Closed. (Retail shop hours as listed on the website.)

For farmers and ranchers

The establishment reports custom-exempt processing to FSIS, and its federal activities include poultry slaughter, poultry processing, and meat processing, with poultry the only species reported slaughtered under inspection. The website does not state booking procedures, drop-off scheduling, minimums, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, or whether animals from outside farms are accepted for custom work. Farmers should contact the plant directly to confirm. The website does describe sourcing from other farms, naming Stone Ridge Manor in Gettysburg, Jonathan Brenneman in Lititz, and Moses Stoltzfus in Dry Run, and lists production standards required of all supplying farms, including no antibiotics or synthetic growth promoters and pasture or deep bedded housing depending on species.

Rettland Farm, LLC reports custom-exempt processing to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes The Farmstead Butcher as a full service butcher shop in Gettysburg selling local, pastured, grass-fed and grain fed meats and dairy. An online store is available with categories for beef, pork, sausage, smokehouse, chicken, turkey, lamb, quick meal starters, dairy, eggs, charcuterie, pet food, and accompaniments, plus a bulk buying section. Listed prices include ground beef bundles at 85.00 dollars for 10 pounds and 45.00 dollars for 5 pounds, chicken breast bundles at 9.99 to 10.49 dollars per pound, and whole pastured chickens at 5.79 dollars per pound. The site menu lists local delivery, pickup locations, farmers markets, and retail stores, and states orders can be picked up at the shop or at a local farmers market. Halves and quarters are not mentioned. Shipping is not stated.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Rettland Farm, LLC

Does this plant slaughter cattle, hogs, or lambs?
The federal record reports poultry as the only species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS activities include meat processing, so beef, pork, and lamb are handled as processing. The website sells beef, pork, and lamb sourced from named farms, but does not state where those animals are slaughtered.
Can a farmer bring animals here for custom processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt processing to FSIS. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file, so contact the plant directly.
Where can a household buy the meat?
The website lists an online store with pickup at the shop or at a local farmers market, plus local delivery and retail store options. Retail hours as listed are Wednesday through Sunday, 10am to 6pm, closed Monday and Tuesday. Shipping is not mentioned.
Which phone number should be used?
The federal record lists (717) 334-6328 for Rettland Farm, LLC at 2776 Baltimore Pike. The website lists (223) 255-8074 and info@thefarmsteadbutcher.com for The Farmstead Butcher retail shop.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
September 15, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Medium volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://thefarmsteadbutcher.com/, https://thefarmsteadbutcher.com/store) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Gettysburg