Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M6636EST. P6636

Pete's Country Meats

Doing business as Pete's Country Meats; Pete's Meat Market; Pete's Meats; Pete's Meats Brand

USDA-inspected cattle and hog slaughter and meat processing in Loretto, Tennessee.

953 Lexington Highway, Loretto, Tennessee 38469 · Lawrence County

pete-s-country-meats.wheree.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA-inspected for both meat slaughter and meat processing under Est. M6636+P6636
  • ·Slaughters cattle and hogs under inspection; FSIS volume category under 1,000 head per year
  • ·Offers custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • ·Reports retail-exempt sales
  • ·Located at 953 Lexington Highway, Loretto, TN 38469, Lawrence County

About Pete's Country Meats

Pete's Country Meats is a small USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant at 953 Lexington Highway in Loretto, Tennessee, in Lawrence County. It operates under establishment number M6636+P6636, with a grant of inspection dated June 1, 2022. The business also appears in records as Pete's Meat Market, Pete's Meats, and Pete's Meats Brand.

The federal record lists both Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter activities, with cattle and hogs slaughtered under inspection. FSIS places the plant in slaughter volume category 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

No website text is available for this establishment, and secondary listings supply little beyond the address and phone number. Details on cut and wrap options, scheduling, pricing, retail inventory, and hours are not yet on file. Anyone planning a delivery or a purchase should contact the plant directly at (931) 853-4378 to confirm current operations.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected cattle slaughter
  • USDA-inspected hog slaughter
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssows

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both USDA-inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter of cattle and hogs to FSIS, so a producer may be able to have animals harvested either for sale under inspection or as custom work returned to the owner in packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS places annual slaughter volume under 1,000 head, which indicates a small operation. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill day schedules, hanging and aging practices, cut and wrap options, and fees are not stated in any source on file. Call (931) 853-4378 to ask about availability, as listed.

Pete's Country Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The federal record shows retail-exempt sales, and secondary directory listings describe the business as a meat market and meat processing business, which suggests over the counter purchasing may be possible. However, no source on file confirms retail hours, product selection, bundles, halves and quarters, delivery, shipping, or online ordering. Contact the plant directly to confirm what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Pete's Country Meats

What species does Pete's Country Meats slaughter?
The FSIS record lists cattle and hogs slaughtered under inspection. No other species are listed.
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, minimums, and fees are not stated in any available source.
Is there a retail counter, and what are the hours?
The federal record shows retail-exempt sales, and a secondary listing refers to the business as a meat market, but no hours or product list is on file. Call (931) 853-4378 to confirm.
How large is the operation?
FSIS classifies it as a small establishment with a slaughter volume category of 1.0, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
June 1, 2022
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Loretto