Federally inspected establishment
EST. M47576The Butcher Barn
Doing business as Circle L Cattle Co.
USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Dyersburg, Tennessee, doing business as Circle L Cattle Co.
765 Anderson Road, Dyersburg, Tennessee 38024 · Dyer County
At a glance
- ·Federally inspected for both slaughter and processing under establishment number M47576.
- ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection.
- ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales, plus halal slaughter.
- ·Very Small plant, FSIS slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
- ·No website on file. Details beyond the federal record and brief directory listings are not yet on file.
About The Butcher Barn
The Butcher Barn, doing business as Circle L Cattle Co., operates under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment number M47576 at 765 Anderson Road in Dyersburg, Dyer County, Tennessee. The federal record lists both Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter activities, with a grant of inspection date on file of December 28, 2022. FSIS classifies the plant as Very Small and places it in slaughter volume category 1.0, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb.
In addition to federally inspected work, the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. Halal slaughter is also reported to FSIS. Secondary listings describe custom beef and hog processing for farmers, a retail butcher shop, and custom curing and smoking, and associate the business with a cattle farm in Dyersburg.
No website is on file for this establishment. Hours, pricing, booking lead times, scheduling policy, cut and wrap options, and delivery or shipping details are not stated in the available sources. Buyers and producers should contact the plant at (731) 589-3548 to confirm current services and availability, as listed.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- Meat processing
- Meat slaughter under federal inspection
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
- Retail-exempt sales
- Halal slaughter
- Custom curing and smoking (per secondary listing)
Species under inspection
Products and retail
Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.
For farmers and ranchers
The federal record shows slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, plus custom-exempt slaughter for animals the customer already owns, with those packages marked Not for Sale. Halal slaughter is reported to FSIS. Secondary listings describe custom beef and hog processing for area farms in West Tennessee. FSIS places the plant in the smallest slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, drop-off requirements, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the available sources and should be confirmed by phone.
The Butcher Barn reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
One secondary listing describes The Butcher Barn as a retail butcher shop specializing in custom curing and smoking, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows direct sales to household customers. Beyond that, no counter hours, product list, bundle or half and quarter offerings, online ordering, delivery, or shipping information appears in the sources on file.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about The Butcher Barn
What species does The Butcher Barn slaughter?
Can a farmer bring an animal for personal-use processing?
Does the plant offer halal slaughter?
Can households buy meat directly?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
- Grant on file
- December 28, 2022
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Dyersburg
- The Hillshire Brands Company10 mi
Newbern · Hogs
- Tyson Foods Inc.26 mi
Humboldt · Poultry
- Tyson Foods Inc34 mi
Union City · Poultry
- Williams Sausage Company, Inc.34 mi
Union City · Hogs
- TN Premium Beef/Mason Processing37 mi
Covington · Cattle · custom-exempt
- Wells Processing Plant42 mi
Brighton · Cattle, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt