Federally inspected establishment
EST. M47977TN Premium Beef/Mason Processing
USDA-inspected cattle slaughter and meat processing in Covington, Tipton County, Tennessee.
597 Clowes Road, Covington, Tennessee 38019 · Tipton County
At a glance
- ·USDA FSIS establishment M47977, listed for meat slaughter and meat processing
- ·Cattle reported as the species slaughtered under inspection
- ·Custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales both reported to FSIS
- ·FSIS size class Very Small; slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year
- ·No website on file; hours, pricing, and product details are not documented
About TN Premium Beef/Mason Processing
TN Premium Beef/Mason Processing operates at 597 Clowes Road in Covington, Tennessee, under USDA FSIS establishment number M47977. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the establishment as Very Small, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection on file is dated November 19, 2024.
Alongside federally inspected work, the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it also reports retail-exempt sales. The listed phone number is (901) 605-5065.
No website is on file for this establishment, and no first-party description of hours, pricing, booking practices, or product lines was available. One third-party directory listing describes cattle, sheep, goat, and pig processing at this location, which goes beyond the cattle-only species reported to FSIS; that claim is unverified here. Details beyond the federal record are not yet on file.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- Meat slaughter under federal inspection
- Meat processing
- Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.
For farmers and ranchers
The federal record lists this establishment for cattle slaughter under inspection as well as meat processing, and it reports custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by a producer can be processed with packages marked Not for Sale. Reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year and FSIS size class is Very Small, which suggests limited throughput. Scheduling practices, lead times, minimums, kill day availability, hanging fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in any source on file. A third-party directory lists sheep, goat, and pig processing in addition to cattle, but only cattle appears in the species reported to FSIS. Producers should contact the plant at (901) 605-5065 to confirm species accepted and current availability, as listed.
TN Premium Beef/Mason Processing reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which generally allows direct sales of meat to household customers, but no retail counter hours, product list, bundle or half and quarter offerings, delivery, shipping, or online ordering are described in any source on file. Households interested in buying should contact the plant directly to ask what is available.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about TN Premium Beef/Mason Processing
What animals does this plant slaughter?
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
Can households buy meat directly from this establishment?
What are the hours and is the plant taking new customers?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
- Grant on file
- November 19, 2024
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Covington
- Wells Processing Plant6 mi
Brighton · Cattle, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Barakat Slaughter House, LLC12 mi
Drummonds · Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Fayette Packing Company, Inc.25 mi
Eads · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- The Butcher Barn37 mi
Dyersburg · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Corky's Food Manufacturing, LP39 mi
Memphis · species not reported · custom-exempt
- The Hillshire Brands Company46 mi
Newbern · Hogs