Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M8080EST. P8080

The Hillshire Brands Company

Doing business as Aidell's Sausage Co.; Bryan Foods, Inc.; Galileo Foods; Gallo Salame, Inc.; JC Potter Sausage Company; Quality Packing Co.; Sara Lee; Sara Lee Foodservice; TSD Sales and Distribution; Tyson Foods Inc.; Tyson Foods, Inc.; Tyson Sales and Distribution, Inc.

Large USDA-inspected hog slaughter and meat processing plant in Newbern, Tennessee, operated under Tyson Foods.

2000 Biffle Rd., Newbern, Tennessee 38059 · Dyer County

tysonfoods.com

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·Listed with FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing; hogs are the reported slaughter species.
  • ·FSIS size class Large, slaughter volume category 4.0.
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file: August 6, 2015.
  • ·No custom-exempt (farmer's own animals) activity reported to FSIS.
  • ·Operates as a Tyson Foods subsidiary; the website on file is the Tyson corporate site, not a plant page.

About The Hillshire Brands Company

The Hillshire Brands Company operates establishment M8080+P8080 at 2000 Biffle Rd. in Newbern, Dyer County, Tennessee. The FSIS directory lists the plant for Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter, with hogs as the species slaughtered under inspection, and classifies it in the Large size category. Its grant of inspection date on file is August 6, 2015, and its reported slaughter volume category is 4.0, well above the smallest tier used by FSIS. No custom-exempt activity is reported.

The federal record lists a long set of doing-business-as names tied to this establishment number, including Aidell's Sausage Co., Bryan Foods, Inc., Galileo Foods, Gallo Salame, Inc., JC Potter Sausage Company, Quality Packing Co., Sara Lee, Sara Lee Foodservice, TSD Sales and Distribution, Tyson Foods Inc., and Tyson Sales and Distribution, Inc. Tyson Foods states that The Hillshire Brands Company is a wholly owned subsidiary and that Hillshire Brands stock ceased trading on the New York exchange. Tyson describes itself as a multinational protein-focused food company producing approximately 20 percent of the beef, pork and chicken in the United States, with brands including Tyson, Jimmy Dean, Hillshire Farm, Ball Park, Wright, Aidells and State Fair, and reports fiscal year 2025 sales of 54 billion dollars and about 133,000 team members as of February 2026.

The website on file is the Tyson Foods corporate site, which covers the company as a whole and does not describe this Newbern plant, its hours, its customers, or any retail or custom services. Details beyond the federal record and the corporate description are not yet on file. Farmers and households should assume this is a large commercial packing and processing operation serving retail, foodservice and restaurant channels rather than a local locker.

Services

  • Hog slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection

Species under inspection

hogssows

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

Questions about The Hillshire Brands Company

Does this plant do custom processing for farmers?
The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment, and no custom slaughter, cut and wrap, booking, or fee information is stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly at the plant?
Not stated. The sources describe no retail counter, halves or quarters, bundles, delivery, or online ordering at the Newbern location. Tyson Foods products are described as sold through retail, club, grocery, discount and foodservice channels.
What animals are slaughtered here?
Hogs are the only species listed as slaughtered under inspection in the FSIS record for establishment M8080+P8080.
What are the hours and who should be contacted?
Hours are not stated in the sources. The phone number on the federal record is (731) 627-4000, and the address is 2000 Biffle Rd., Newbern, TN 38059. Activities are described as listed with FSIS and no statement is made here about current availability of work.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
August 6, 2015
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/hillshire-brands-company-3, https://www.tysonfoods.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Newbern