Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M19636EST. P19636

Tyson Foods Inc

Doing business as Houston Farms; Prospect Farms; Tyson Farms Inc

Large USDA-inspected poultry slaughter and processing plant in Union City, Tennessee.

2800 E. Tyson Dr., Union City, Tennessee 38261 · Obion County

business.obioncounty.org

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·Reports both poultry slaughter and poultry processing to FSIS
  • ·FSIS size class: Large; slaughter volume category 5.0
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file: March 28, 2017
  • ·No custom-exempt activity reported, so no farmer custom processing is listed
  • ·No plant website on file; the listed site is the Obion County Chamber of Commerce

About Tyson Foods Inc

Tyson Foods Inc operates a poultry slaughter and processing establishment at 2800 E. Tyson Dr. in Union City, Obion County, Tennessee. The plant holds federal establishment numbers M19636 and P19636 and reports Poultry Processing and Poultry Slaughter activities to USDA FSIS. The federal record lists doing-business-as names of Houston Farms, Prospect Farms, and Tyson Farms Inc, with a grant of inspection date on file of March 28, 2017.

FSIS classifies the establishment in its Large size class, and its slaughter volume category is listed as 5.0, the upper end of the agency's reported ranges. Poultry is the only species reported as slaughtered under inspection. No custom-exempt activity is reported, which indicates the plant is not listed as doing custom slaughter or processing of animals owned by others for return to the owner.

No company website for this location is on file. The website recorded in the registry is the Obion County Chamber of Commerce and economic development site, which describes the county generally and notes food processing among local industries but does not describe this plant, its products, or its buying practices. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, retail sales, products, and ownership history at this site, are not yet on file.

Services

  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing under federal inspection

Species under inspection

chickens

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment, so it is not listed as a plant that slaughters or cuts animals owned by individual farmers for return to the owner. It is classified as a Large poultry slaughter and processing operation with a high reported volume category, the pattern of a company-integrated plant rather than a local custom shop. Growers or haulers with questions about deliveries would need to contact the plant directly at (731) 886-4700, as listed. Booking practices, minimums, fees, and cut and wrap terms are not stated in any source on file.

Tyson Foods Inc operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

Questions about Tyson Foods Inc

Does this plant process livestock for individual farmers?
Not according to the federal record. FSIS reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment, and the only species reported slaughtered under inspection is poultry.
Can households buy meat at this location?
No retail counter, bundles, delivery, or online ordering is stated in any source on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (731) 886-4700.
What animals are handled here?
Poultry only, according to the species reported to FSIS. No red meat slaughter is reported at this establishment.

Federal record

Activities
Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
March 28, 2017
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Very large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/establishments, https://obioncounty.org/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Union City