Federally inspected establishment
EST. M47645Barakat Slaughter House, LLC
USDA-inspected halal sheep and lamb slaughter and processing plant in Drummonds, Tennessee.
49 Needham Road, Drummonds, Tennessee 38023 · Tipton County
At a glance
- ·Federal grant of inspection dated December 6, 2021, under establishment number M47645.
- ·Slaughters sheep and lamb under inspection; no other species reported to FSIS.
- ·Reports halal slaughter, custom-exempt slaughter, and retail-exempt sales.
- ·FSIS size class very small, with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
- ·Located at 49 Needham Road, Drummonds, Tennessee, in Tipton County, phone (901) 444-2499.
About Barakat Slaughter House, LLC
Barakat Slaughter House, LLC operates under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment number M47645 at 49 Needham Road in Drummonds, Tennessee, in Tipton County. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection dated December 6, 2021. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year.
The only species the plant reports slaughtering under federal inspection are sheep and lamb. The establishment reports halal slaughter, and it also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, as well as retail-exempt sales. A website is on file at barakathalalmeat.com, and a third party halal directory refers to the operation as Barakat Halal Meat, describing USDA-inspected halal meat.
No website text was available for this record, so details beyond the federal record are not yet on file. Booking practice, fees, cut and wrap options, hours, founding history, and ownership are not stated in the sources reviewed. Buyers and producers should contact the plant at (901) 444-2499 to confirm what it currently handles.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- Meat slaughter under federal inspection
- Meat processing
- Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals
- Halal slaughter
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.
For farmers and ranchers
Sheep and lamb are the only species the plant reports slaughtering under federal inspection, and reported volume is under 1,000 head per year, which is the lowest FSIS volume category. The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, so a producer can have animals they own processed with packages marked Not for Sale, and it also holds a federal grant of inspection for inspected slaughter and processing. Halal slaughter is reported to FSIS. Scheduling lead times, drop-off procedures, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file, so producers should call (901) 444-2499 to confirm availability and terms.
Barakat Slaughter House, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The plant reports retail-exempt sales, which means some direct sales to consumers occur at the establishment level, and it reports halal slaughter. A website is on file at barakathalalmeat.com, and a halal directory listing describes the operation as offering USDA-inspected halal meat. Specific cuts, bundles, whole or half animal pricing, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not stated in the available sources. Household buyers should contact the establishment directly to ask what is available for purchase.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Barakat Slaughter House, LLC
What animals does Barakat Slaughter House slaughter?
Is the slaughter halal?
Can a farmer bring their own sheep for processing?
Are there retail hours or a store?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
- Grant on file
- December 6, 2021
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Drummonds
- Wells Processing Plant10 mi
Brighton · Cattle, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- TN Premium Beef/Mason Processing12 mi
Covington · Cattle · custom-exempt
- Fayette Packing Company, Inc.27 mi
Eads · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Corky's Food Manufacturing, LP31 mi
Memphis · species not reported · custom-exempt
- The Butcher Barn47 mi
Dyersburg · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- The Hillshire Brands Company56 mi
Newbern · Hogs