Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M6555EST. P34794

Fayette Packing Company, Inc.

Doing business as Keith's Farm

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Eads, Tennessee, with a retail meat counter.

16620 Highway 196, Eads, Tennessee 38028 · Fayette County

fayettepackingco.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalal

At a glance

  • ·FSIS-listed for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing; cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter, retail-exempt sales, and halal slaughter to FSIS
  • ·Website states appointments are required for animals to be received and that pork over 600 pounds is no longer accepted per USDA
  • ·Retail store with cut to order steaks, daily in-house ground beef, breakfast sausage, and deli items
  • ·Online store ships selected items frozen, including beef filets and oxtails

About Fayette Packing Company, Inc.

Fayette Packing Company, Inc., doing business as Keith's Farm, operates at 16620 Highway 196 in Eads, Tennessee, in Fayette County. The plant holds federal establishment numbers M6555 and P34794 and is listed with FSIS for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing. FSIS classes the establishment as small, with a grant of inspection date on file of July 23, 2021. Species slaughtered under inspection are reported as cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant is in FSIS slaughter volume category 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, along with retail-exempt sales and halal slaughter.

The company website, fayettepackingco.com, describes a processing operation and a retail store, and sells packaged meats and seasonings online. The processing page states that an appointment is required for animals to be received, that the plant no longer accepts pork over 600 pounds per USDA, and that all animals received are inspected by USDA and can be condemned at USDA discretion. Listed hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM. Contact numbers on the site are phone (901) 867-3826 and fax (901) 867-3829, with email addresses lk.fayettepacking@yahoo.com and Fayettepackingco@bellsouth.net.

The retail page describes a country store with steaks cut to order, ground beef ground in house daily, a fresh breakfast sausage made from a family recipe described as passed down through each generation, and deli items including Starling all-meat bologna, gooseliver, and livercheese. Search snippets attributed to the business refer to a start in the early fifties and to more than 60 years serving the Mid-South. Details beyond what is stated above, including pricing for custom processing, are not on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Halal slaughter
  • Cut to order steaks
  • In-house ground beef
  • Online ordering and shipping of packaged meats

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowsroaster pigslambs

Products and retail

  • Beef filets, 8 oz, hand cut and individually vacuum sealed
  • Beef oxtails, 5 pound box
  • Fresh cut steaks
  • Ground beef ground daily in house
  • Fresh breakfast sausage (family recipe)
  • Deli cuts including Starling all-meat bologna, gooseliver, and livercheese
  • BBQ seasonings, including an apple bourbon and original set

Hours as listed

Monday through Friday 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM (CST), as listed on the website. A search snippet attributed to the company's Facebook page states the business is reopening Saturdays; Saturday hours are not listed on the website.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports cattle, hog, and sheep and lamb slaughter under federal inspection to FSIS, plus custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer, with those packages marked Not for Sale. Halal slaughter is also reported to FSIS. FSIS places the plant in its lowest slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year. The website states that an appointment is required before animals are received, that pork over 600 pounds is no longer accepted per USDA, and that all animals received are inspected by USDA and may be condemned at USDA discretion. Booking lead times, kill day schedules, hanging weight or per head fees, and cut and wrap terms are not stated in the sources on file. Scheduling should be arranged by phone at (901) 867-3826 or by email.

Fayette Packing Company, Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a retail store where customers can buy fresh cut steaks to order, ground beef ground in house daily, fresh breakfast sausage, and deli items such as all-meat bologna, gooseliver, and livercheese. An online shop lists packaged items shipped frozen, including a six pack of 8 oz hand cut beef filets at $199.95 with free shipping and a 5 pound box of beef oxtails at $69.95, along with BBQ seasoning sets at $14.98 and $27.98. Several of these items showed as sold out at the time the site text was captured. Halves, quarters, and bundle boxes are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Fayette Packing Company, Inc.

Does Fayette Packing Company process animals owned by a farmer?
Yes, the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. The website adds that an appointment is required before animals are received.
What species are slaughtered here?
FSIS records list cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection. The plant is also listed for poultry processing. The website notes it no longer accepts pork over 600 pounds per USDA.
Is halal slaughter available?
The establishment reports halal slaughter to FSIS. Details such as which species, which days, or who supervises the process are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly?
The website describes a retail store with fresh cut steaks, in-house ground beef, breakfast sausage, and deli cuts, and an online shop that ships items such as 8 oz beef filets and 5 pound boxes of oxtails frozen. Several online items showed as sold out when the site text was captured. Halves and quarters are not mentioned.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
July 23, 2021
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://fayettepackingco.com/, https://fayettepackingco.com/pages/processings) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Eads