Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M48219EST. P48219EST. V48219

Panola County Processing LLC

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Carthage, Texas, with wild game work and a retail store.

501 CR 407, Carthage, Texas 75633 · Panola County

panolacountyprocessing.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptFSIS size class: SmallCustom-exempt slaughter reportedRetail-exempt sales reported

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for meat slaughter, meat processing and poultry processing, with voluntary meat slaughter and processing also listed.
  • ·Reported slaughter species include cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, bison, and elk or deer.
  • ·Posted standard processing fee of $1.45 per pound of carcass hanging weight, with cut order sheets available on the website.
  • ·Wild game processing for deer and wild pork, plus an on-site retail store.
  • ·FSIS slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year, indicating a small-scale operation.

About Panola County Processing LLC

Panola County Processing LLC operates at 501 CR 407, just off Highway 699, in Carthage, Panola County, Texas. The plant holds federal establishment numbers M48219, P48219 and V48219, with a grant of inspection date on file of July 12, 2021. FSIS lists its activities as meat processing, meat slaughter, poultry processing, voluntary processing of meat and voluntary slaughter of meat, and classes the establishment as small. Reported slaughter species under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, bison, and elk or deer, with a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year.

The company's website says it opened its doors in January 2016 as a state inspected slaughterhouse founded by Bill Kneipp and Jeff Davidson, described as the result of conversations about returning a slaughterhouse to Panola County. The site states the operation has since become one of a few small plant designated USDA federally inspected slaughterhouses in Texas, serving East Texas and surrounding areas. The website describes four service lines: full service slaughter and harvest, wild game processing, a retail store, and butchering.

In addition to inspected work, the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it also reports retail-exempt sales. A standard processing fee of $1.45 per pound of carcass hanging weight is posted on the website, along with downloadable cut order sheets. Nothing here should be read as confirmation that the plant is currently accepting work; details are given as listed.

Services

  • Full service slaughter and harvest
  • Meat slaughter and meat processing under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing
  • Wild game processing (deer, wild pork)
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for animal owners, packaged Not for Sale
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat (non-amenable species)
  • Butchering and cut and wrap
  • Retail store

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowssheeplambsbisonelk

Products and retail

  • Fresh-cut meats
  • Beef, pork, lamb and goat custom cuts
  • Deer and wild pork processing
  • Retail bundles (listed on the website as not currently available)

Hours as listed

Store hours: Mon - Fri 8:00am-5:00pm; Sat 8:00am-12:00pm; Sun closed. Drop off hours for slaughter: Monday-Friday beginning at 7:45 am. No Saturday or Sunday drop off unless prior arrangements made.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both federally inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter, with species listed to FSIS as cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, bison, and elk or deer. FSIS places its slaughter volume in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. The website posts a standard processing fee of $1.45 per pound of carcass hanging weight and provides cut order templates for beef, pork, and lamb or goat, as well as deer and wild pork. Drop off hours for slaughter are stated as Monday through Friday beginning at 7:45 am, with no Saturday or Sunday drop off unless prior arrangements are made. Booking procedures, deposits, and scheduling lead times are not stated in the sources.

Panola County Processing LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a retail store selling fresh-cut meats and states that services can be personalized for individuals harvesting an animal to fill a freezer. A retail bundles pricing list is referenced on the site but is marked not currently available. The establishment also reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. A shop page exists on the website, but the sources do not confirm working online ordering, shipping, delivery, or the sale of halves and quarters.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Panola County Processing LLC

Does the plant slaughter under federal inspection or only custom?
Both are listed. FSIS lists meat slaughter and processing plus poultry processing under establishment numbers M48219, P48219 and V48219, and the plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals with packages marked Not for Sale.
How much does processing cost?
The website posts a standard processing fee of $1.45 per pound of carcass hanging weight. Slaughter or kill fees, disposal charges, and any additional fees are not stated in the sources.
When can animals be dropped off?
The website states drop off hours for slaughter are Monday through Friday beginning at 7:45 am, with no Saturday or Sunday drop off unless prior arrangements are made. Appointment requirements and wait times are not stated.
Can households buy meat directly?
The website describes a retail store with fresh-cut meats, and retail-exempt sales are reported to FSIS. A retail bundles price list is referenced but marked not currently available on the site. Shipping or delivery is not mentioned.
Is the plant state or federally inspected?
The website's history section describes the business opening in 2016 as a state inspected slaughterhouse and later becoming a small plant USDA federally inspected slaughterhouse. The FSIS directory shows a grant of inspection date on file of July 12, 2021.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
July 12, 2021
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://panolacountyprocessing.com/, https://www.panolacountyprocessing.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Carthage