Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. P325

Tyson Foods, Inc.

Doing business as TSD Sales & Distribution; Tyson Farms, Inc.; Tyson Sales and Distribution. Inc.

Large USDA-inspected poultry slaughter and processing plant operated by Tyson Foods in Center, Texas.

1019 Shelbyville Street, Center, Texas 75935 · Shelby County

tysonfoods.com

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·Federal record lists poultry slaughter and poultry processing at this address.
  • ·FSIS size class is large, with slaughter volume category 5.0.
  • ·No custom-exempt processing is reported for this establishment.
  • ·Website on file is the Tyson Foods corporate site; no plant-specific page or hours are on file.
  • ·Two different phone numbers appear in the sources: (956) 598-2723 in the federal record and a 936 prefix number in a business directory listing.

About Tyson Foods, Inc.

Tyson Foods, Inc. operates establishment P325 at 1019 Shelbyville Street in Center, Shelby County, Texas. The federal record lists the plant under FSIS activities for poultry slaughter and poultry processing, with poultry as the only species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the establishment in its large size class, and the slaughter volume category on file is 5.0, the highest of the reported bands. The grant of inspection date on file is May 2, 1997. The establishment also does business under the names TSD Sales & Distribution, Tyson Farms, Inc., and Tyson Sales and Distribution. Inc.

The website on file is the corporate site for Tyson Foods, which describes the company as a multi-national protein-focused food company producing approximately 20 percent of the beef, pork and chicken in the United States, with brands including Tyson, Jimmy Dean, Hillshire Farm, Ball Park, Wright, Aidells and State Fair. The corporate site reports fiscal year 2025 sales of 54 billion dollars and about 133,000 team members as of February 2026, and states the company sells chicken, beef, pork and prepared foods through club stores, grocery stores and discount stores, and supplies foodservice customers such as restaurant chains, schools, military bases, hospitals and nursing homes. That material describes the corporation as a whole and not the Center, Texas plant specifically.

No custom-exempt activity is reported for this establishment, and the federal record and corporate website give no information about a retail counter, on-farm animal drop-off, or direct sales at this location. Details beyond the federal record and the corporate site are not yet on file. The phone number in the federal record is listed as (956) 598-2723, while a third-party business directory lists a 936 area code number for the same address.

Services

  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing under federal inspection

Species under inspection

chickens

Products and retail

  • Chicken products (company-wide brands listed on the corporate site: Tyson, Jimmy Dean, Hillshire Farm, Ball Park, Wright, Aidells, State Fair)

Questions about Tyson Foods, Inc.

Can a farmer bring poultry here for custom processing?
Not stated. The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment, and neither the federal record nor the corporate website describes booking, minimums, or cut and wrap services for individual growers.
Is there a retail store or counter at the Center, Texas plant?
Not stated in any source on file. The corporate site describes retail and foodservice distribution for Tyson Foods products nationally, not sales at this location.
What species are handled at this establishment?
Poultry only, according to the species reported to FSIS. FSIS activities on file are poultry slaughter and poultry processing.
Is the plant currently operating and accepting work?
The profile reflects the federal directory record as listed, including a grant of inspection dated May 2, 1997. Current operating status, hours, and availability are not stated in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
May 2, 1997
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Very large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.tysonfoods.com/, https://www.tysonfoods.com/who-we-are/our-story) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Center