Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M7124

West Texas A&M University Meat Laboratory

USDA-inspected university meat laboratory in Canyon, Texas, slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep.

600 WTAMU Drive, Canyon, Texas 79016 · Randall County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Establishment M7124, USDA-inspected for both slaughter and processing.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Offers custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale.
  • ·Very small plant with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·University-affiliated facility; WTAMU material notes the campus hosts a regional USDA Cattle Carcass Grading Correlation Center.

About West Texas A&M University Meat Laboratory

West Texas A&M University Meat Laboratory is a USDA-inspected establishment at 600 WTAMU Drive in Canyon, Randall County, Texas, operating under establishment number M7124. The federal record lists both meat slaughter and meat processing activities, with a grant of inspection dated March 16, 2022. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, and its reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. The listed phone number is (806) 651-3579.

The laboratory is associated with West Texas A&M University. University material describes the Caviness Meat Science and Innovation Center and notes that WTAMU is one of three regional USDA Cattle Carcass Grading Correlation Centers housed there. No website is on file for the meat laboratory itself, and details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, and product lists, are not yet on file. One secondary directory lists a different street address in Canyon than the one in the federal record; the FSIS address of 600 WTAMU Drive is the record of reference.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

steersheifersbullshogslambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection, along with custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals returned in packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, with a reported slaughter volume of under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in any source on file. Farmers should call (806) 651-3579 to confirm whether slaughter dates are available and what the plant currently accepts.

West Texas A&M University Meat Laboratory reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows direct sales of meat to household buyers at the establishment. No source on file names specific cuts, bundles, halves or quarters, delivery, shipping, or online ordering, and no retail hours are listed. Buyers should call (806) 651-3579 to ask what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about West Texas A&M University Meat Laboratory

What species can be slaughtered here under inspection?
The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking terms, fees, and lead times are not stated in any source on file.
Can households buy meat directly?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. No specific products, bundles, hours, or ordering methods are stated in the sources.
Does the plant have a website or posted hours?
No website is on file for the meat laboratory, and no hours are stated. The listed phone number is (806) 651-3579.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
March 16, 2022
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Canyon