Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M245E

Tyson Fresh Meats, Inc.

Doing business as IBP, Inc.; Tyson Foods, Inc.

Large-scale USDA-inspected cattle slaughter and beef processing plant in Amarillo, Texas, operated by Tyson Fresh Meats.

5000 North FM 1912, Amarillo, Texas 79108 · Potter County

tysonfoods.com

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·FSIS lists both meat slaughter and meat processing activities, with cattle as the inspected species.
  • ·FSIS size class large, slaughter volume category 4.0.
  • ·Company news describes the Amarillo plant as one of the largest of Tyson's six beef facilities, producing commodity cuts, with a 200 million dollar investment announced in 2022.
  • ·No custom-exempt slaughter or processing is reported to FSIS.
  • ·Tyson Foods announced a restructuring of its beef business network in August 2026.

About Tyson Fresh Meats, Inc.

Tyson Fresh Meats, Inc., doing business as IBP, Inc. and part of Tyson Foods, Inc., operates establishment M245E at 5000 North FM 1912 in Amarillo, Potter County, Texas. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the establishment as large and places it in slaughter volume category 4.0, the high end of the agency's volume scale. The grant of inspection date on file is December 9, 2021.

The website on file is the corporate site for Tyson Foods, which describes the company as a protein-focused food company producing roughly 20 percent of the beef, pork and chicken in the United States, with fiscal year 2025 sales of 54 billion dollars and about 133,000 team members as of February 2026. Its brand portfolio includes Tyson, IBP, Jimmy Dean, Hillshire Farm, Ball Park, Wright, Aidells and State Fair. A 2022 company news release describes the Amarillo plant as one of the largest of Tyson's six beef facilities and states that the complex produces commodity cuts of beef, alongside a 200 million dollar investment announcement. In August 2026 the company announced a network restructuring for its beef business.

No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS, and the corporate site does not describe farmer drop-off, retail sales at this location, or direct-to-household purchasing. Directory listings show a second address, 1912 U.S. Rte 66, Amarillo, TX 79107, which differs from the FSIS address of record. Details beyond the federal record and the corporate website are not yet on file.

Services

  • Cattle slaughter under federal inspection
  • Beef processing and fabrication
  • Commodity beef production for wholesale, retail and foodservice channels

Species under inspection

steersheifers

Products and retail

  • Commodity beef cuts
  • Fresh beef sold under the Tyson and IBP brands

Questions about Tyson Fresh Meats, Inc.

Can a farmer or rancher bring animals here for custom processing?
The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment, and neither the corporate website nor the search material describes custom or private-label processing for individual producers. Livestock procurement arrangements are not stated in the sources on file.
Is there a retail counter or a way for households to buy directly?
Nothing in the sources describes a retail store, freezer sales, halves or quarters, delivery or online ordering at this location. Tyson Foods products are described on the corporate site as sold through grocery, club and discount stores and to foodservice customers.
What species and activities are on file with USDA?
FSIS lists Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter, with cattle as the species slaughtered under inspection. The establishment number is M245E and the grant of inspection date on file is December 9, 2021.
Which address is correct?
The FSIS record lists 5000 North FM 1912, Amarillo, TX 79108. Some third-party directories list 1912 U.S. Rte 66, Amarillo, TX 79107. The federal address is the address of record. Operating hours are not stated in the sources.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
December 9, 2021
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.tysonfoods.com/, https://www.tysonfoods.com/who-we-are/our-story) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Amarillo