Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M7273

Panhandle State University

University meat lab in Goodwell, Oklahoma, with USDA inspection for slaughter and processing of cattle, hogs, and sheep.

Lab-Harrison/Church St. PO Box 460, Goodwell, Oklahoma 73939 · Texas County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS establishment M7273, listed for both meat slaughter and meat processing.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter, with packages marked Not for Sale.
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year.
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file is October 5, 2021.

About Panhandle State University

Panhandle State University operates a USDA-inspected meat laboratory in Goodwell, Oklahoma, in Texas County, listed with FSIS under establishment number M7273. The federal record shows activities of meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of October 5, 2021. FSIS classifies the establishment as Very Small, and its slaughter volume category is 1, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with resulting packages marked Not for Sale. The listed address is the Lab at Harrison and Church Street, PO Box 460, Goodwell, OK 73939, and the listed phone number is (580) 349-1518.

The website on file is the Oklahoma Panhandle State University Facebook page, which covers the university broadly rather than the meat lab. No website text describing the lab's services, pricing, scheduling, or retail sales was available. Details beyond the federal record are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Meat processing under USDA inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifershogssowslambs

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists both slaughter and processing at this establishment, covering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, plus custom-exempt slaughter of animals the customer already owns. Volume is small, under 1,000 head per year in the FSIS category, and the plant is classed as Very Small. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill day schedules, hanging fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in any source on file. Farmers should call (580) 349-1518 to confirm what work is available, as listed.

Panhandle State University reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

Questions about Panhandle State University

What species can be slaughtered here?
The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection.
Can I bring my own animal for processing for my family?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, which means it processes animals owned by the customer, with the resulting packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling and fee details are not stated in any source on file.
Is there a retail counter or meat for sale to the public?
No source on file describes retail sales, bundles, delivery, or shipping. That information is not stated.
What are the hours and how do I book?
Hours and booking procedures are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (580) 349-1518.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
October 5, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Goodwell