State registry
ORLocal Meat in Oregon
Oregon became the 28th state with its own meat inspection program when USDA signed the cooperative agreement in August 2022, and the Oregon Department of Agriculture now inspects cattle, swine, sheep, and goat plants whose meat can be sold anywhere inside Oregon. The registry lists 16 federally inspected slaughter plants in the state, 14 of which also take custom-exempt work, and Oregon sets no cap on how many people may own shares of one animal.
Oregon at a glance
- USDA slaughter plants
- 16
- Custom-exempt work
- 13
- Counties with a plant
- 14
- Inspection routes
- Federal, state (in-state sales), custom-exempt (own animal)
- Species handled by at least one plant
- Cattle · 10Hogs · 8Sheep and lamb · 9Bison · 1
Source: USDA FSIS Meat, Poultry and Egg Product Inspection Directory, 2026-09-01 edition, establishments with a slaughter activity. State program status per FSIS and USDA announcements.
Key takeaways
- 01The ODA State Meat Inspection Program covers cattle, swine, sheep, goats, and exotic species; poultry and rabbits are not covered. State-inspected meat sells only inside Oregon, and Oregon is not in the Cooperative Interstate Shipment program.
- 02The registry lists 16 federally inspected slaughter plants in Oregon, 14 with custom-exempt work. ODA licenses every custom-exempt slaughterhouse, mobile slaughter truck, and processor and inspects them once or twice a year alongside USDA.
- 03Oregon has no limit on shares per animal, but OSU Extension warns that more than four invites USDA and ODA scrutiny. All shares must be sold before slaughter, priced by live weight or per head, and the buyers pay the plant directly.
- 04ORS 603.038 lets a producer slaughter up to 1,000 poultry or rabbits a year on the producer's own premises without an ODA license; up to 20,000 birds requires a state-licensed facility. All exempt poultry stays inside Oregon.
- 05Oregon had 1,210,000 cattle and calves, 500,000 beef cows, and 146,000 sheep and lambs on January 1, 2026. The five largest farm counties by land are all east of the Cascades; the custom plants cluster in the Willamette Valley.
USDA-inspected slaughter plants in Oregon
Full list of 16 →The 12 shown first take custom-exempt work, which is what you need if you are buying a live animal or a share from a farm. 10 of the 16 plants slaughter cattle. Call before hauling: small plants book harvest dates months out, especially September through December.
- Bright Oak Meats, Inc.Call
Springfield · Lane County
EST. M9252+P9252+V9252 · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Bison, Elk, deer, yak
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Central Oregon Butcher BoysCall
Prineville · Crook County
EST. M27493+P27493+V27493 · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Clark Meat Science LaboratoryCall
Corvallis · Benton County
EST. M9223+P9223 · Cattle
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Crystal Creek MeatsCall
Roseburg · Douglas County
EST. M9246+P9246+V9246 · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Kalapooia Valley Grassfed ProcessingCall
Brownsville · Linn County
EST. M45218 · Cattle, Sheep and lamb
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Malco's Buxton Meat CoCall
Sandy · Clackamas County
EST. M9264+P9264+V9264 · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Marks Meat Inc.Call
Canby · Clackamas County
EST. M9265+P9265 · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Montgomerys Meats IncCall
Central Point · Jackson County
EST. M565B+V565B · Cattle, Sheep and lamb, Elk, deer, yak
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Montgomerys Meats IncCall
Central Point · Jackson County
EST. M565A+V565A · Species not reported
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Mt. Angel Meat Co.Call
Mount Angel · Marion County
EST. M9270+P9270+V9270 · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Oregon Beef Co.Call
Madras · Jefferson County
EST. M9289+P9289 · Species not reported
Custom-exempt slaughter
01Who inspects meat in Oregon
Oregon runs a state meat inspection program that FSIS has found at least equal to federal inspection. USDA signed the cooperative agreement in August 2022, making Oregon the 28th state with its own program, and ODA's rules for it are at OAR 603-029. Under the program, businesses that operate and sell within Oregon can sell ODA-inspected meat in Oregon just like federal plants, but that meat cannot leave the state. Oregon is not in the Cooperative Interstate Shipment program, so the only Oregon meat that crosses state lines is federally inspected (see cooperative interstate shipment).
The program covers slaughter and processing of cattle, swine, sheep, goats, and exotic species defined in the rule. Poultry and rabbits are not covered. Each state-inspected plant gets its own establishment number, carcasses are ink-branded with the Oregon meat inspection legend, and every label must be approved by ODA before use. ODA is careful to note that an ODA meat license is not the same as a grant of inspection: most plants that slaughter or sell raw meat hold a license, but only plants that apply and pass a facility review, HACCP plan, and on-site review operate under inspection. OSU Extension reported in 2025 that only a few plants were under the program so far, with a grant program paired to it to fund facility upgrades.
Three ways meat is processed in Oregon and where it can be sold
| Inspection | Who inspects | Where the meat can be sold |
|---|---|---|
| Federal (USDA FSIS) | FSIS inspector at every slaughter, daily at processors | Anywhere in the United States |
| Oregon State Meat Inspection Program | ODA inspector, same standards, Oregon legend and establishment number | Anywhere in Oregon only |
| Custom-exempt (ODA licensed) | ODA and USDA review once or twice a year; no inspector at slaughter | Not sold; returned to the animal's owner marked Not for Sale |
The 16 federally inspected slaughter plants in Oregon are listed at /processors/oregon. Background on the three tiers is in USDA vs state vs custom-exempt and state meat inspection programs.
02Buying a whole, half, or quarter animal in Oregon
Under 9 CFR 303.1 a custom-exempt plant may slaughter and process livestock only for the exclusive use of the owner, the owner's household, and nonpaying guests, and every package is marked Not for Sale. In Oregon that means you buy the live animal, or a share of it, from the farm before slaughter; the farm may not sell you meat. ORS 603.045 requires custom plants to mark every package and prohibits them from buying or selling carcasses that are not identified as inspected. All custom-exempt slaughterhouses, mobile slaughter trucks, and processors in Oregon must be licensed by ODA.
OSU Extension's custom-exempt FAQ (EM 9345, reviewed 2025) lays out the working rules. Sharing a live animal is legal and the plant must record each owner's name before slaughter under 9 CFR 303.1(b)(3). Oregon has no rule limiting shares per animal, but more than four is likely to draw scrutiny from USDA and ODA because it starts to look like uninspected meat sales. All shares must be sold before the animal is killed. The farm charges by live weight or per head, never by cut-and-wrapped weight; the share owners call the plant with their cutting instructions and pay the kill fee and cut-and-wrap charges directly; and the farm may not deliver the frozen meat. Read how to buy a half cow and animal shares and herd shares for the math on hanging weight and take-home yield.
A buyer may also purchase a live animal and slaughter it on the farm without help, which stays personal use under the 2018 FSIS exemption guideline; if the farm helps, the farm becomes a custom slaughter facility. Local zoning still applies. See custom-exempt slaughter explained.
03On-farm poultry and small-flock sales in Oregon
Federal law exempts producers slaughtering 1,000 or fewer of their own birds, and a second tier up to 20,000 birds, from continuous inspection (9 CFR 381.10; see on-farm poultry exemptions). Oregon wrote the first tier into state law in 2011. ORS 603.038 allows a person to slaughter no more than 1,000 poultry or rabbits a calendar year, raised by that person since two weeks of age, at the person's own premises, without an ODA meat license. The slaughter site must meet ORS 619.026 and ODA rules, may not be used by other people, records must be kept for ODA inspection, and the birds may not enter interstate commerce. In 2013 the legislature made slaughtering, processing, and selling up to 1,000 poultry an outright permitted use in exclusive farm use zones, within specified limits.
Oregon poultry options (ODA meat licensing page, ORS 603.038, OSU Extension)
| Birds per year | Facility | Sales |
|---|---|---|
| Up to 1,000 of your own | Your own premises, meeting sanitation rules; no ODA license required | Direct to consumers, inside Oregon |
| Up to 20,000 of your own | State-licensed poultry processing establishment, or a shared mobile poultry processing unit that meets state sanitation rules | Inside Oregon |
| Small enterprise exemption, up to 20,000 | State-licensed; slaughter and cut-up only; may process other producers' birds and sell them back | Inside Oregon |
| More than 20,000 or interstate | USDA-inspected plant | Anywhere |
OSU Extension publishes best practices for open-air poultry slaughter (EM 9273) covering sanitation and labeling under the exemption. ODA's own meat licensing page confirms that poultry growers slaughtering no more than 1,000 poultry per year for direct retail sales do not need an ODA license.
04Where the livestock is
Oregon livestock, USDA NASS (Jan 1, 2026 inventory unless noted)
| Item | Number | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Cattle and calves | 1,210,000 | NASS state overview, Jan 1, 2026 |
| Beef cows | 500,000 | NASS state overview, Jan 1, 2026 |
| Milk cows | 120,000 | NASS state overview, Jan 1, 2026 |
| Sheep and lambs | 146,000 | NASS state overview, Jan 1, 2026 |
| Meat and other goats | 28,000 | NASS state overview, Jan 1, 2026 |
| Hogs and pigs | 9,813 | 2022 Census of Agriculture |
| Broilers and other meat-type chickens | 3,526,079 | 2022 Census of Agriculture |
| Farms and land in farms | 35,400 farms, 15.3 million acres | NASS state overview, 2025 |
Oregon is a beef cow state: 500,000 beef cows against 120,000 milk cows, with 8.8 million acres of pastureland to 4.4 million acres of cropland in the 2022 Census. Cattle and calf sales ranked 16th nationally at $1.22 billion, and sheep, goat, wool, and mohair sales ranked 13th, which is why lamb shares are easier to find in Oregon than in most states. Hogs are scarce at 9,813 head (36th). The cow-calf herd is east of the Cascades in Harney, Malheur, Umatilla, Morrow, and Wasco counties; the plants that cut it for direct buyers are mostly in the Willamette Valley. Sort the 16 plants by distance in the finder.
05Seasonality and booking
Sixteen federally inspected slaughter plants for 35,400 farms and 1.21 million cattle, with only a few of them under the new state program, means Oregon's custom calendar fills early. OSU Extension's advice to farms is to keep shares per animal low because the plant has to schedule, take cutting orders from, and collect from every owner, and a plant is more likely to schedule a farm that keeps that simple. As a buyer, that is your cue: commit to a share early, agree on the cutting order with the other owners, and have one person call the plant.
Grass-finished cattle and lambs in the Willamette Valley come off pasture in late summer and fall, so those are the crowded months for on-farm mobile kills and cut-and-wrap coolers. High-desert calves are weaned in fall and finished later, which can put ranch-direct beef on a winter or spring schedule. For poultry, the 1,000-bird exemption ties slaughter to the producer's own premises, so broiler harvest dates are set by the farm's batch schedule, usually late spring through early fall.
06Oregon resources
Two OSU Extension publications do most of the explaining for Oregon buyers and farms: the short guide to meat and poultry processing regulations in Oregon (revised December 2024) and EM 9345, the custom-exempt FAQ. ODA's meat licensing page lists the exemptions and license classes, and the State Meat Inspection Program page walks through the seven-step application. Plant listings are at Oregon processors.
How buying local meat works in Oregon
By the cut. A farm or butcher in Oregon can sell you individual steaks, roasts, and ground meat only if the animal was processed under inspection: at one of the federally inspected plants above, or at a plant inspected by the Oregon state program (in-state sales only, unless the plant is in the Cooperative Interstate Shipment program). Each package carries the inspection mark and the establishment number.
By the animal. You can buy a whole, half, or quarter animal from a farm before slaughter and have it processed at a custom-exempt plant. The packages will say Not for Sale because the meat is legally yours, not the farm's. Federal rules (9 CFR 303.1) require the plant to record every owner of a shared animal; some states cap the number of owners, so ask the farm how it structures shares.
Poultry on the farm. Federal exemptions let a farm slaughter and sell up to 1,000 birds a year of its own raising with minimal requirements and up to 20,000 under a stricter exemption. States add their own conditions on where those birds can be sold, so the farm should be able to say which exemption it operates under.
Read the full explanation in USDA, state, and custom-exempt inspection and the step-by-step half cow buying guide.
Frequently asked questions
Does Oregon have state meat inspection?
Yes. The Oregon Department of Agriculture runs a State Meat Inspection Program under a cooperative agreement USDA signed in August 2022, covering cattle, swine, sheep, goats, and exotic species but not poultry or rabbits. State-inspected meat can be sold anywhere in Oregon but not across state lines.
How many people can share one cow in Oregon?
Oregon sets no limit, unlike states that cap shares at four or eight. The custom plant must record every owner's name before slaughter under 9 CFR 303.1(b)(3), and OSU Extension warns that more than four shares per animal invites scrutiny from USDA and ODA.
Can an Oregon farm charge me by the pound for a beef share?
Only by live weight or per head, because you are buying a live animal, not meat. You then pay the ODA-licensed custom plant its kill fee and cut-and-wrap charges directly, and you pick the meat up yourself; the farm cannot deliver frozen custom meat.
Can I buy farm-butchered chicken in Oregon?
Yes. Under ORS 603.038 a producer may slaughter up to 1,000 of their own poultry or rabbits a year on their own premises without an ODA license and sell them direct to consumers inside Oregon. Larger producers up to 20,000 birds use a state-licensed facility or shared mobile processing unit.
Where are Oregon's custom-exempt plants?
The registry lists 16 federally inspected slaughter plants in Oregon, 14 with custom-exempt work. The densest cluster is in the Willamette Valley (Clackamas, Marion, Yamhill, Benton, Linn, and Lane counties), with others in Jackson, Douglas, Crook, Klamath, and Morrow counties.
Sources
Our verification standards require primary sources: federal and state agencies, the Federal Register, statutes, and university extension research. We do not cite other affiliate sites.
- 1.ODA, State Meat Inspection Program
- 2.ODA, Meat Licensing (exemptions)
- 3.OSU Extension, Meat and poultry processing regulations in Oregon: a short guide (rev. Dec 2024)
- 4.OSU Extension EM 9345, FAQ about using custom-exempt slaughter and processing facilities in Oregon
- 5.ORS Chapter 603, Meat Dealers and Slaughterers (603.038, 603.045)
- 6.OAR 603-029, Oregon State Meat Inspection Program rules
- 7.USDA NASS, Oregon State Agriculture Overview
- 8.USDA NASS, 2022 Census of Agriculture, Oregon state profile
Editorial record
Last reviewed September 1, 2026. Rules, quotas, and inspection status change. If you find an error or a plant that has closed, tell us and we will correct the record and note the change here.
Nearby states