State registry
KSLocal Meat in Kansas
Kansas inspects its own meat and poultry plants through the Kansas Department of Agriculture under the Kansas Meat and Poultry Inspection Act, but it is not a Cooperative Interstate Shipment state, so Kansas-inspected product sells only inside Kansas. With 5.85 million cattle and calves on January 1, 2026, third in the nation, and 2.48 million of them on feed, Kansas has more beef per resident than almost any state, and custom half-beef slots are common from the Flint Hills to the southwest feedlot belt.
Kansas at a glance
- USDA slaughter plants
- 37
- Custom-exempt work
- 25
- Counties with a plant
- 31
- Inspection routes
- Federal, state (in-state sales), custom-exempt (own animal)
- Species handled by at least one plant
- Cattle · 30Hogs · 22Sheep and lamb · 15Goats · 1Bison · 6Poultry · 3
Source: USDA FSIS Meat, Poultry and Egg Product Inspection Directory, 2026-09-01 edition, establishments with a slaughter activity. State program status per FSIS and USDA announcements.
Key takeaways
- 01The Kansas Department of Agriculture runs the state Meat and Poultry Inspection Program under K.S.A. 65-6a18 and following; product marked Kansas inspected and passed sells only inside Kansas.
- 02Kansas is not in CIS, so a ranch shipping beef out of state must use a federally inspected plant.
- 03K.S.A. 65-6a31 exempts custom slaughter of livestock, rabbits, and poultry delivered by the owner, for the owner's household and nonpaying guests, with product marked Not for Sale.
- 04Federal poultry exemptions at 1,000 and 20,000 birds apply; Kansas's custom statute also covers poultry delivered by the owner.
- 05NASS counted 5.85 million cattle (3rd), 2.48 million cattle on feed (3rd), and 1.15 million beef cows (7th) in Kansas on January 1, 2026; hogs were 1.83 million on June 1, 2026.
- 06Fall slots at small Kansas plants fill first; book a grass-finished half beef in spring and a feedlot-finished half with a few weeks' notice.
USDA-inspected slaughter plants in Kansas
Full list of 37 →The 12 shown first take custom-exempt work, which is what you need if you are buying a live animal or a share from a farm. 30 of the 37 plants slaughter cattle. Call before hauling: small plants book harvest dates months out, especially September through December.
- Alta Vista Locker LLCCall
Alta Vista · Wabaunsee County
EST. M3773+V3773 · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Bison
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Bauman's Butcher BlockCall
Ottawa · Franklin County
EST. M51184+P51184+V51184 · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Ben-Lee Processing Inc.Call
Atwood · Rawlins County
EST. M2366+P2366+V2366 · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Elk, deer, yak
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Bronson Locker LLCCall
Bronson · Bourbon County
EST. M44934+P44934+V44934 · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Burkhart Meat Processing LLCCall
Kinsley · Edwards County
EST. M3012 · Species not reported
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Callicrate Cattle Co.Call
St. Francis · Cheyenne County
EST. M40432+V40432 · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb
Custom-exempt processing
- Farview Farms Meat CompanyCall
Topeka · Shawnee County
EST. M39942+P39942+V39942 · Species not reported
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Heritage Meats, Inc.Call
Leoti · Wichita County
EST. M3265+V3265 · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Bison
Custom-exempt slaughter
- Kensington Lockers Inc.Call
Kensington · Smith County
EST. M31898+P31898+V31898 · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Elk, deer, yak
Custom-exempt slaughter
01Who inspects meat in Kansas
Kansas has a state Meat and Poultry Inspection Program inside the Kansas Department of Agriculture, operating under the Kansas Meat and Poultry Inspection Act, K.S.A. 65-6a18 and following. The Act requires the Secretary of Agriculture to examine all livestock, domestic rabbits, and poultry slaughtered and prepared in establishments for intrastate commerce (65-6a20, 65-6a26), to inspect plants for sanitation (65-6a25), and to cooperate with USDA in enforcing the state and federal acts (65-6a19). Product that passes is marked Kansas inspected and passed and may be sold anywhere inside the state. Federal plants are inspected by USDA FSIS and can sell anywhere.
Kansas is not a Cooperative Interstate Shipment state. A Kansas ranch that sells boxed beef to customers in Missouri or Colorado has to use a federal plant; a Kansas buyer can purchase state or federal product freely inside the state. Our state inspection guide and CIS guide explain why, and the Kansas processor registry lists the federally inspected slaughter plants from the FSIS directory. The Act defines livestock broadly to include cattle, sheep, swine, goats, deer, ratites, and equines (65-6a18).
02Buying a whole, half, or quarter animal in Kansas
Kansas writes the custom exemption into its own statute. K.S.A. 65-6a31 excepts from inspection the custom slaughter and preparation of livestock, domestic rabbits, poultry, and game animals delivered by the owner, exclusively for use or consumption by the owner, the owner's household, and the owner's nonpaying guests and employees. Any carcass or meat prepared on a custom basis must be plainly marked Not for Sale immediately after preparation and kept so identified until delivered to the owner, kept separate at all times from product prepared for sale, and handled in a sanitary establishment. That is the same structure as 9 CFR 303.1(a)(2).
So the half-beef purchase works as it does everywhere: the ranch sells you the live animal or a share of it, the plant slaughters it for you as owner, and the packages come back stamped Not for Sale. Kansas does not set a numeric cap on how many households may share an animal; the household-use language controls. Expect a price on hanging weight plus kill and cut fees. See animal shares and how to buy a half cow.
Kansas plant types and where the meat can go
| Plant type | Inspected by | Who can buy | Sells across state lines |
|---|---|---|---|
| Federal establishment | USDA FSIS | Anyone | Yes |
| Kansas inspected and passed | Kansas Department of Agriculture | Anyone in Kansas | No (no CIS) |
| Custom-exempt (65-6a31) | State (sanitation) | Owner of the animal only | No sales |
03On-farm poultry and small-flock sales in Kansas
The federal exemptions in 9 CFR 381.10 apply in Kansas: a producer may slaughter up to 1,000 birds of their own raising per year, or up to 20,000 per year under added conditions, without inspection, with containers carrying the producer's name and address and the statement Exempted P.L. 90-492. Kansas's custom statute, 65-6a31, separately covers poultry delivered by its owner for custom slaughter, so a small-flock owner can also have birds processed at a custom plant for their own household. We have not verified a separate Kansas bird count or registration step beyond the federal tiers; confirm with the Kansas Department of Agriculture before the first sale.
Kansas cottage food rules do not cover meat or poultry. The federal tiers, labels, and where each tier may sell are compared in our on-farm poultry exemptions guide.
04Where the livestock is
Kansas is a feeding state as much as a ranching state. NASS counted 5.85 million cattle and calves on January 1, 2026, third behind Texas and Nebraska, with 2.48 million on feed (third), 1.15 million beef cows (seventh), and 225,000 milk cows. The 2025 calf crop was 1.23 million. Hogs were 1.83 million on June 1, 2026, and sheep and lambs 81,000. The stocker cattle that graze the Flint Hills each summer are counted elsewhere for much of the year, which is why the beef cow number understates how much beef the state raises.
Kansas livestock inventory, NASS 2026
| Class | Head | Date | National rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| All cattle and calves | 5,850,000 | Jan 1, 2026 | 3rd |
| Cattle on feed | 2,480,000 | Jan 1, 2026 | 3rd |
| Beef cows | 1,145,000 | Jan 1, 2026 | 7th |
| Hogs and pigs | 1,830,000 | Jun 1, 2026 | 11th of published states |
| Sheep and lambs | 81,000 | Jan 1, 2026 | Outside top 10 |
Grain-finished half beef is easiest to find in the southwest and central counties; grass-finished beef comes from Flint Hills and eastern ranches. Use the finder for the nearest federally inspected slaughter plant and ask the ranch which state or custom plant it uses. The Kansas Department of Agriculture's From the Land of Kansas program keeps a member directory and interactive map of Kansas producers.
05Seasonality and booking
Kansas has a year-round feedlot supply, so a grain-finished half beef can often be scheduled within weeks. Grass-finished cattle come off Flint Hills pasture from late summer into fall, and the small plants that do custom halves are fullest from October through January, when deer season adds to the load. Book a fall grass-finished half in spring; look to February and March for the easiest slots. Hogs cycle quickly and lamb is small-flock and seasonal.
Ask each plant whether it is custom-exempt or Kansas inspected, since that decides whether you must own the animal first, and ask for its hanging time and cut-sheet deadline. The custom-exempt guide and USDA vs state vs custom-exempt cover the marks you will see on the package.
How buying local meat works in Kansas
By the cut. A farm or butcher in Kansas can sell you individual steaks, roasts, and ground meat only if the animal was processed under inspection: at one of the federally inspected plants above, or at a plant inspected by the Kansas state program (in-state sales only, unless the plant is in the Cooperative Interstate Shipment program). Each package carries the inspection mark and the establishment number.
By the animal. You can buy a whole, half, or quarter animal from a farm before slaughter and have it processed at a custom-exempt plant. The packages will say Not for Sale because the meat is legally yours, not the farm's. Federal rules (9 CFR 303.1) require the plant to record every owner of a shared animal; some states cap the number of owners, so ask the farm how it structures shares.
Poultry on the farm. Federal exemptions let a farm slaughter and sell up to 1,000 birds a year of its own raising with minimal requirements and up to 20,000 under a stricter exemption. States add their own conditions on where those birds can be sold, so the farm should be able to say which exemption it operates under.
Read the full explanation in USDA, state, and custom-exempt inspection and the step-by-step half cow buying guide.
Frequently asked questions
Can Kansas state-inspected beef be sold in Missouri or Colorado?
No. Kansas does not participate in the Cooperative Interstate Shipment program, so product marked Kansas inspected and passed stays inside Kansas. Out-of-state sales require a federally inspected plant.
Is it legal to buy a half beef in Kansas?
Yes. K.S.A. 65-6a31 excepts custom slaughter of an animal delivered by its owner for the owner's household. You buy the animal or a share before slaughter, and the meat comes back marked Not for Sale.
Does the Kansas custom exemption cover poultry and rabbits?
Yes. K.S.A. 65-6a31 covers livestock, domestic rabbits, poultry, and game animals delivered by the owner. Federal poultry exemptions at 1,000 and 20,000 birds also apply to on-farm sales.
Which agency inspects state meat plants in Kansas?
The Kansas Department of Agriculture's Meat and Poultry Inspection Program, under the Kansas Meat and Poultry Inspection Act (K.S.A. 65-6a18 and following). USDA FSIS inspects federal plants.
How do I find a Kansas ranch selling beef direct?
The From the Land of Kansas program, run by the Kansas Department of Agriculture, publishes a member directory and interactive map. LocalMeat.org's Kansas registry lists the federally inspected slaughter plants from the FSIS directory.
Sources
Our verification standards require primary sources: federal and state agencies, the Federal Register, statutes, and university extension research. We do not cite other affiliate sites.
- 1.K.S.A. 65-6a18, Kansas Meat and Poultry Inspection Act definitions
- 2.K.S.A. 65-6a31, Exceptions to inspection; custom slaughtering
- 3.K.S.A. 65-6a26, Inspection of livestock, rabbits and poultry for intrastate commerce
- 4.K.S.A. 65-6a34, Registration required
- 5.From the Land of Kansas, Kansas Department of Agriculture
- 6.9 CFR 303.1, Exemptions (custom slaughter)
- 7.9 CFR 381.10, Poultry exemptions for specified operations
- 8.USDA NASS, Cattle (January 30, 2026)
Editorial record
Last reviewed September 1, 2026. Rules, quotas, and inspection status change. If you find an error or a plant that has closed, tell us and we will correct the record and note the change here.
Nearby states